Sort:  

I thought that dishwashers were a better idea on the account that they use (typically) less water than hand-washing. At least, that's what the media tells us here in Australia ;)

I want to say that it's complicated. It may use less water and energy, especially if you have an energy efficient one, fill it up all the way and don't pre-rinse everything (definitely use a bucket for that).

In my case, I don't have a big household and I would never be able to fill the thing up. I use a hot soap bucket and a warm rinse bucket. I then give it a cold rinse with fresh water which doesn't take long. Maybe I'm even with the water at worst? Energy wise, I barely use any hot water (only for soak) and zero electricity.

Good read with excellent ideas, you mention great ideas about your kitchen but nothing about the food you eat, maybe that was in another post-I know you have a garden and clearly you get it.

I've talked a little about it before, but Food has such a huge impact, it deserves its own post or several.
The problem with food is people confuse ethical and health choices with environmental ones, nevermind the propaganda, economic and cultural considerations. We should all just be eating fortified GMO peanuts, leafy greens, algae, potatoes and maybe larvae. Yuck.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love to read all the things you are doing personally to make the planet a better place for you and your family ~ Knowing the ripples spread out to the entire planet. Imagine if all of us took the same care.

In our household, we do many of the things you are doing. All our food scraps either go into our worm farms or compost or directly into the garden. We re-use our containers and don't use 'throw away' anything.

Our council provides three separate bins for green waste, paper, glass and plastic. So anything we can't re-use will be re-cycled by the council (hopefully.)

Love your idea of having a bucket to soak dishes in ~ Will start to do that now too. No chemical detergents etc and we finally came by a toaster recently to use instead of the oven grill. ♥︎♥︎⚖️♥︎♥︎

I've always wanted to have a worm farm. My frog likes eating them and I hear they are great for the garden.

Saving the Earth is a nobel goal. Good job. I especially like the idea of avoiding toxic chemicals in the kitchens. I worked in a restaurant before and they legally have to use a lot of harsh chemicals for 'sanitary' reasons.

They need different standards, but yeah they are businesses and most are not environmentally friendly or even that healthy.

All excellent ideas. Thank you.

7 things in your kitchen alone... Reading your post made me realize I should do more myself... :0/

I like thinking about it. To me it's like making a budget, you don't realize how much you waste until you reflect on it and consider what you are doing. Also, most of the stuff I do actually saves me money.

I don't even want to start reflecting on it, because I'm going to get depressed again if I get confronted with how much I waste and how much money it costs me 😉

Nice set of tips. There is so much we can do to reduce energy use and decrease the waste stream. Unfortunately, too many people don't seem to care. I guess when you have major political parties telling them that climate change is a hoax, you have to expect apathy.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

The reaction of most mainstream political parties towards climate change and environmental issues shocks me. You have the center-right parties that just dismiss it as a hoax to avoid raises taxes or expenses on business. Then you have the center-left parties that sort of embrace it as a reason to charge more tax and then somehow find a social welfare issue that is more important.
I actually liked the green party for a while, then they started going socially progressive on other issues and it turned me off a little. Luckily they backed down on a lot of it when people informed them that if it doesn't involve the environment they should probably leave it to the other politicans.

Why aren't we having more posts like this? I am going to re steem this so others can read it too.

Thanks so much, it means a lot and really helps.

Hi @abitcoinskeptic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.536 which ranks you at #5884 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 54 places in the last three days (old rank 5938).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #134.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 41.75% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @abitcoinskeptic! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 40 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00