Couple Encloses Their Home In A Greenhouse To Grow Food Year Round

in #enviroment4 years ago (edited)

And to cut WAY down on their heating bills because they live in Sweden where the winters are 9 months long. It's quite a smart design with many advantages over the typical home plus it's incredibly efficient.

8jssy5.jpg
source

The glass is security glass so it's very strong and the greenhouse keeps the house warm in the winter... the sun's heat is stored in the bedrock which the home sits on.

45zs43.jpg
source

They collect their own water from rain to use for washing and bathing and they have a composting toilet. Of course the greenhouse allows them to grow their own food also so they're dang near self-sufficient.

2lrmog.png
source

Since they didn't need a roof on their house they removed it so they can enjoy the sun year round, not to mention the night sky.

g7fzlr.png
source

When it gets hot in the summer the roof opens up and they open the greenhouse windows.

I like that spiral staircase:

kuhr7a.png
source

I think this is a great option if you live in a Northern climate, what do you Canadians think?

nwsfwt.jpg
source

About the only negative I can think of off the top of my head is..that would be a heck of a lot of work cleaning all that glass! But from an ecological, environmental, and sustainability standpoint I think it's pretty amazing.

I think we'll see alot more of these being built. They didn't give any indication of how much it cost.

9ir66o.png

Thanks for stopping by folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

PS- Check out this champion Cowboy Action shooter, Jessica Kirkham, she was 17 yrs old in this video a few years ago. And they say lever-guns are too slow! lol.

Yeah she's still tearin up the competition. She can have my back anytime!

mv4t7d.png

d25fwk.png

xsfpf7.png

Sort:  

Wow, how cool. I’ve been wanting a greenhouse in my backyard. I wonder what the hubby would say about having this around our house?

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy violetmed! So you like this idea? For the whole house I mean? lol. Think of all the attention you guys would get if your house was enclosed in glass! Hey you could turn it into a magnificent butterfly sanctuary.

Exactly! :)

Think of all that bird-crap they have to clean off each year.

lol..I know, the window cleaning job would be monumental since the whole greenhouse is windows. They need to make them with automatic glass cleaners and they have a winner. How'd you like the Cowboy Action Shooting? I was waiting for your comment on that one!

Oh yeah, I forgot to comment on that actually. It's impressive, and at 17 years old? She must do nothing else! Lol.

Very true, if the kids get into that it'll keep em out of trouble because they'll be practicing all the time!

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 8000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Howdy there steemitboard! thanks for the upvote and the new badge and for keeping track of all this stuff!

Fascinating! I especially love that they removed the original house roof to see the night sky from their new glass bedroom. Makes one wonder about living in a glass house again, lol.

Btw, I posted about a greenhouse yesterday. Great minds on the same wavelength! 😄

Howdy sir lydon.sipe! I'm so glad you commented because if I don't see someone I forget to visit them so I'll head over there! I agree though, taking the roof off really makes the idea much more appealing I think!

Haha, no worries! I agree! Reminds me of the glass igloos folks can rent to watch the northern lights. Beautiful.

A lot of ideas that seem crazy turn out to not be so crazy after all!

I agree sir simms50, this idea has some interesting advantages! You could grow your own food all year even where you are.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 5.74% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus! Thanks so much for the upvote today!

And here I sit with a pocket full o' rocks..... Hungry 4 a Steak...!!!

M o o o o o....

So cool ideal! Although I would perhaps feel a bit enclosed...

@tipu curate

Howdy tipu and thanks so much for the tip!

Howdy sir tobetada! I understand, I might feel that way too. I can see the advantages and it certainly is working well for them but I'd have to try it to know if I'd feel too trapped or encased. Thanks so much for stopping by!

You have got a big piece of land haven't you? Are you growing your own food?

I wonder does that mean if someone breaks in that they have to break in twice?....lol, would that count as one or two burglaries if they got caught. Interesting concept, also nice you can sit anywhere outside your house and not have to worry about mosquitoes.

Howdy sunlit7! I agree, if you're in a bad mosquito area then this project would be worth it just for that reason! I bet we see lots of these being built up North.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61159.70
ETH 2631.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63