Dropping out of schools and colleges

Dropping out of schools and colleges
.
Lately, I have been seeing a lot of people post about dropping out of schools and colleges. Though, I am just 16 years old and myself in school, still would like to share my experience on this topic.
.
Last year, at the same time one of my friend was doing YouTube. He was doing exceptionally well and his channel was making 100-200k a month. Mind it that he was in 11th standard. 200k per month for an 11th standard student is a really big deal. After 2-3 months, he decided that it was time to drop out of the school so he could focus completely on YouTube. So he leaves his 11th standard's studies in middle of the session
.
After 15 days, his YouTube channel was banned because of copyright and community strikes. It was just few days since he dropped out and he lost everything. He lost is stream of income and the biggest thing, he lost the opportunity to complete his education. Schools denied taking him back because he was trying to join in between the session.
.
Fast forward one year, he is still not in any school. Youtube isn't working out for him, he is struggling really bad and also he has become what people call "gyaarwi fail".
.
Why did I share this? The reason is pretty simple, whole day "so called" motivational speakers share about pursuing your dreams and passion, which is great, but in between these people there are few who share how great people never completed their education.
.
Instead of looking at the few people who made it big because of dropping out, you should rather focus on people who lost everything because they dropped out.
.
If you are in school and are thinking to drop out then please completely scrap that idea. Education till 12th standard is really important. Not only it gives you knowledge but shapes you as a person. You may think that the things you are learning may be outdated and may not have a real life use but these things help you build your logic and helps in making real life decisions.
.
If you are in college and are thinking to drop out then make sure you have a solid action plan. If you drop out then focus on your goal, have alternate plans ready because if the first plan doesn't work then your growth would be stagnated.
.
Again I would say dropping out should be completely avoided, especially if you are in school.
.
You may have the skills, but if you don't have the grades then don't forget there are 7 billion people in this world. And tons of them have skills as well as grades with them.

Sort:  

I have to be honest. At the beginning of this year, I was in my senior year in University for biomedical engineering. I decided to drop all my classes and invest all my money in Ethereum. It paid off. I have no interest in following someone else's dreams anymore. Sometimes you just have to follow your gut. I do want to go back and finish my degree but I'm not in a rush to get back. The way I see it now University is just a business too. If there is anything I want to learn I don't need a title to say it. If I want to build a machine I don't need a certificate that says I went to college and can now build a machine. You need a degree to work for a hospital, a law firm, a big biomedical engineering company etc. but ultimately you will be working for someone else's ambitions. Remember Steve Jobs, Bill Gates, Mark Zuckerberg are a few examples of people that dropped out of college in the pursuit of their own interests. They knew that school would be unable to offer a path because their fields were not developed yet. It's a risk that people take for big rewards.

Thanks for the good article

Congratulations @maadhavsaxena! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @maadhavsaxena! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49