You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Topics You Can Never Change My Mind On

Why do you place a distinction on the level of human development relating to the rights held by the individuals in question while at the same time trying to insist that animals have rights? A fetus is a genetically unique human from conception and the first cellular division.

Take the airplane example. I have an extra weight burden and unwanted traveling companion. Does that mean I have the right to "humanely" kill and eject him?

Sort:  

I originally brought up animals to illustrate the inconsistency of calling for legislation outlawing abortion of human fetuses, while supporting the killing of other species (non fetal) via hunting, or for the inhumane treatment of animals otherwise killed for food. Also it tends to be a conservative policy preference to support the death penalty.

Certainly, a fetus is a genetically unique human from conception. However, prior to birth, with the lack of a developed neurological system and self awareness, as well as utilizing modern medical practices, it is possible to humanely terminate the life at this stage. I at least would hold myself to this standard - if aborting me would have improved my mother's life in any way at the time of my conception, I would not care at all. I would have no inkling of this at all.

There is no moral equivalency between a man killing a captive man within an airplane and a ending the life of a fetus. While both comprised of human genetic material, the developmental phase as well as the bodily autonomy of the mother are the key distinctions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63096.55
ETH 3032.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69