You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Make an Entrepreneur Mad

in #entrepreneur8 years ago

I'm raising a family. At the moment I'm building up holdings in a minting coin to fund allowances for my children (and myself), and looking to speed the process up a bit by posting on Steemit :)

Sort:  

Holdings in a minting coin? I'm intrigued. What does that mean?

It's Diamond Coin (see https://bit.diamonds/). It's a hybrid proof of work/proof of stake coin. The proof of stake part means that when you hold it in your wallet and open the wallet for minting, the wallet generates more coins. Diamond currently mints at an annual 25% rate. I figured out that if I accumulate a certain amount, then I can start selling the minted coins and then cash the BTC to pay for my kids' allowances. It's basically a small residual income goal I've set for myself. Of course, if the price of DMD drops precipitously, my plans could fall apart. But DMD has been a pretty good store of value (for crypto!) over the past three years. Each one tends to be worth between 25 and 35 cents. It's got a solid development team and decent community. I discovered this coin during one of my freelance writing assignments about a year ago.

Usual disclaimer: this is not investment advice; only invest what you can afford to lose, etc. :)

Interesting. Thanks for the info. Seems the market cap is increasing, though the price has dropped. Does that mean it just rewards those who got in early?

The price in Bitcoin has been as high as 0.001 and as low as 0.00038 or so. Like any other coin, the trick is to buy low and sell high, and if you follow it for a while you pick up on the pattern. I usually buy in around .00045 or so. Since it mints at 25%, though, even if I sell the minted coins back at exactly the same price, I'm still coming out ahead, because I'd be keeping the principal and only selling the "interest." Of course if the price drops through the floor, then I'd be behind. You have to keep up with the coin's community on Bitcoin Talk for a while to determine if you think it's going anywhere. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=580725.0;topicseen

My assessment is that development is moving forward, the fundamentals are good, and the price is fairly stable. Also, the coin itself is pretty rare (there will only ever be 4.38 million of them). But you can't go based on my assessment alone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 58984.04
ETH 2551.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35