Why and How you should watch Aldnoah.Zero: Review + Analysis + Love letter and personal thoughts

in #entertainment7 years ago
 What does it take to end a war? Well, if both sides wish for peace and set aside their hatred... No. Warfare is nothing but a means of negotiation between states. Wars break out even when there is no hatred. Territory, resources, or interests that you are determined to own. Ideology, religion, pride. Wars are fought over those objectives all the time. Meaning that when those objectives are met, the war will end. That, or the war will end when the human cost outweighs the gains. Anger and hatred are only tools to tilt a war in your favor. I'm not interested in those emotions. So I wouldn't hate anyone just because they're Martian. 

 ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO is a Mecha, Sci-fi, Action, Thriller created by Gen Urobuchi and from the studio A-1 Pictures and TROYCA. The director is Ei Aoki who previously directed Fate/Zero which I posted about some time ago. It's very much of a polarizing anime that is like a Zack Snyder movie. (Watchmen and Sucker Punch are 2 of my all time favorite 10/10 movies) Thanks to all the action, battles, technology and music the anime became a considerable hit which I'm very glad about. But if ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO was just a good time I wouldn't talk about it. I believe in entertainment that begin with delight but end with wisdom. Basically Marvel is just meh.

If you are wondering what's with the picture, that's the fictional character who utter the opening quote. If you are already familiar with the great Urobutcher you should already be asking if this is some deconstruction anime. Let me assure that ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO isn't just that but also a gigantic cosmic middle finger on the mecha genre itself. Think what if Deadpool was a deep intellectual, thought provoking, philosophical movie that became an anti-superhero movie instead of just making fun of superhero movie.

What got me in

I'm one of those people who find a fracture in everything and I complain a lot. I could wake up a in some Utopia with super high tech and I'd still complain. I've gotten sick with many mecha anime and a lot had to do with the protagonists. Those suckers always get on my nerves. I'm not a fan of the Luke Skywalker type. When I first heard about ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO I heard several things (especially about the protagonist) that was presented in a negative light. On me that had an opposite effect as those were the qualities I admire and look forward to see.

 Human beings aren't known for remaining calm and rational. 

- Kaizuka Inaho  

If this sounds like it's coming from someone in a high ground looking disappointing about the humanity; you are hearing it right. Inaho lives like he's the only exception for the above rule in the know universe. It's not something he shove in people's faces. It's just his actions. They are NEVER not calm and not irrational. No exceptions.

For me Kaizuka Inaho was the only person in the anime I could really connect with and he was the perfect character for a deconstruction anime like ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO which subvert and invert established tropes while building itself to become it's own thing. 

In 1972, the Apollo 17 mission to the moon discovered an alien Hypergate that allowed for instantaneous transport to Mars. A massive effort to colonize Mars soon followed, and the first explorers and settlers quickly discovered Lost Technology there dubbed "Aldnoah" that allowed them to become self-sufficient. Eventually, they declared independence as the Holy VERS Empire, named after their expedition's leader Rayregalia Vers Rayvers, and even formed a religion (if you could call it that) based around the technology found on Mars. In 1999, a war broke out between the Holy VERS Empire and United Earth, ending with a Pyrrhic Victory for VERS after the Hypergate on the moon overloaded and blew the celestial body in half, cutting off all access to Mars and causing massive destruction across the Earth thanks to major population centers being heavily damaged by environmental shifts and the falling shards of the moon.It is now 2014, fifteen years after the devastating events of "Heaven's Fall." The VERS soldiers who were left behind after the Hypergate's destruction now live in the remains of the moon and massive space stations in orbit between Earth and the moon, forming themselves into 37 clans. Only recently has space travel advanced to the point where travel between Earth and Mars is practical, and tensions remain extremely high between Earth and the Holy VERS Empire.

That's the basic premise. Yes, this is an alternative history. If you are wondering what the ZERO in ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO means, it doesn't mean a number. It means a lack of something. But before that let's see the common trope. Normally the protagonist faces a great threat but comes to poses some great power (which at times could only be used my the protagonist) and face the enemies like some Red Baron. In the title; Zero means just Zero...... not having any god damn protagonist perks. None. Zilch. ZERO.

The enemies start wiping out Earth's military as if it was a game. In fact, the enemy pilots consider an invasion of Earth as a competition among themselves to show off who's the best. Because of the previous historical events, even the schools have military training. Our protagonist Kaizuka Inaho pilots one of the training bots from the school. A bottom level mech vs almost divine and incomprehensible power.

That to me is one of the most touching and most important aspects of the anime. It's a story of a kid who's calm, rational and beyond drama thinking with his head to beat an overwhelming force. Many battles play with science and even ends up being tangential learning experiences.

The Music

The Music helps greatly to make the series as awesome as it is. Hiroyuki Sawano which I mentioned in a previous article composed the music an there is 2 hours 27 minutes and 44 seconds of it.One of the first things that got me to notice ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO was the following track.

It only hit me how profound the naming was after watching a part of the anime. There is an ending these named: aLIEz and those 5 letter having put together at the same place has moremeaning, impact and worth to me than multiple Oscar winning movies combined with all their hard work and achievements. I know that I'm making a strong claim comparing 5 letters to a several Oscar winners combined.

But that's the entire point of art; to summarize a life's worth experiences in a single product so that many wouldn't have to make mistakes of their own to learn from mistakes. I'll drop you a hint and let you ponder why.

Alpha.Omega.Things that are not absolute truths.

Her is the genius musician/almost philosopher behind most of the things related to music including playing some of the instruments and writing the amazing words that make up the songs.

Flaws

As an over critical person looking for flaws at everything, I see 2.5 main problems with ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO

Lack of proper budget is one. By the end of the absolutist amazing and explosive first episode I was screaming for more production budget. A lot could have been made better.

Also there were parts where things like physics wasn't given enough attention. The main things regarding the high stakes battles were well done. But smaller instances could have been much polished.

They could have also gone more brutal psychologically. It felt like the creators pulled their punches despite making Saving Private Ryan look like kindergarten material both psychologically and philosophically. The only time I thought Urobutcher went 100% was Madoka Magica Movie Trilogy. Strategy/battle tactics wise both Death Note and Code Geass did better though their protagonists were kind of what was subverted by the character of Inaho.

Fun Fact

Natsuki Hanae who voiced Kaizuka Inaho in the Japanese version also voiced Kaneki Ken in Tokyo Ghoul which you'd also find very interesting specially if you liked ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO Both of them are on the top of my favorites list.

Most Importantly: How to watch

This is highly important. If you want to get the absolute best viewing experience, follow this guide. There are 24 episodes each ~23-24 minutes long made into 2 seasons. Binge watch the first season in a single sitting. After that don't touch anything for few days. Please just leave the series for few days. Then go binge the remaining 12 episodes.

Following the above guide is essential for the maximum impact. Even the most prominent war movies would pale in comparison when it comes to depth, science and exhilarating action. The series would work better if you are already familiar with the genre. I ask you not to overlook the subtle things just because of the explosive battles which the series is,full of.

I also love how the creators took a massive brave step with a character like Inaho who I could very much relate to and confronting the viewers with a character that is optimal for the situation but disappointing (for the mainstream) as a protagonist of a medium of entertainment.

Keep the discussion going in the comments below and don't forget to resteem.

 "Let Justice Be Done, Though The Heavens Fall"  

Sort:  

Congratulations @vimukthi, this post is the eighth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 3429 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $6264.99. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

The amount of work put into this review is fantastic. Look forward to reading more posts.

I try to make a point to watch anything involving Gen Urobuchi and was not disappointed by this installment. I would personally put it below Fate/Zero & Madoka on his list of works, but I'm admittedly biased to anything Yuki Kaijura composes (I know she/Kalafina did the opening making this a no brainier to watch for me!) Your information on Sawano is really remarkable though, enough so that I'm gonna have to give the OST another run through. As polarizing as Guilty Crown was, he honestly made it redeemable in my eyes so perhaps my bias is changing :P

I also appreciate you pointing out the 'flaws' like you did. I was hooked after the first episode (may have something to do with nuking New Orleans) and was so pumped for the rest of the series, but it didn't quite maintain that level of grandeur I was hoping for. I think Gen also has the reputation of putting out strong season 1s and then falling off a bit (ie Psychopass) and I don't think this was an exception to that. Overall through, an anime worth a binge and a review worth more than a single read through :)

I try to make a point to watch anything involving Gen Urobuchi and was not disappointed

Amen. Madoka Magica anime really disappointed me and I thought Urobutcher turned to a pussy. Then I watched the movie trilogy and the 3rd movie was built on top of the anime ending so well now I refuse to rate Madoka Magica as I consider 10/10 would be insulting. (An honor I've given to Matrix, Evangelion, GitS(Minus Arise and the feature length character assasination), Steins;Gate (minus the movie) and BBC SHERLOCK minus S4E1)

As polarizing as Guilty Crown was

It's not polarizing really. If you only watched the first half you'll be thinking it's one of the greatest anime ever made. Then the second half and especially the final episode was one of the worst I've ever seen. Thankfully we had a protagonist like Inaho for ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO who is like an existential middle finger to piece of garbage that was the lead of Guilty Crown.

Urobutcher only worked on S1 and the movie of Psycho-Pass. Season 2 was done by the guy behind Heroic Age (one of my favorites). If the series had ~15 episodes to tell the story and with bit more polish to it, it would have been as good as S1. It had so much good stuff and even took some stuff to the next level from S1. But ultimately it was an Star Wars EP VI but this time it was't because unnecessary stuff added but because the series didn't have enough time to flesh itself out well.

Currently I'm at
Madoka Magica
Psycho-Pass
Fate/Zero
ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO
Expelled from Paradise
Psycho-Pass 2 and The Movie (which are still better than some of the best Hollywood has to offer)

Ha, I like your taste in ratings. I personally put Eva, Madoka, and Stein;s in my top 5 anime of all time. Trying to scroll through your blog, but have you written any articles on them as well? I always enjoy different interpretations of Eva, and I'd also be curious as to why you disliked Deja Vu. I'll say it did feel rather cliched at times and I think they could have upped the ante a bit with a movie budget, but I did appreciate what it was trying to accomplish with the circle and creation of Kyouma

And thanks for the clarification on Psycho Pass 2, I read somewhere he was involved and just assumed directed. Good to know. Out of curiosity, is Gen your favorite writer and if not, who is?

Use this site to find my previous works: https://coffeesource.net/vimukthi/
I haven't written any posts about the 3 you mentioned But I've had many conversations with few people like @durzo

Evangelion was more of a puzzle than something to interpret. Most things about it had solid but vague story. Some things could have been interpreted in different ways. But most things were solid but also meta much like my B&W Photo Challenge submissions: https://steemit.com/photography/@vimukthi/no-rules-broken-seven-day-black-and-white-photo-challengewhite-photo-challenge-3rd-circle-in-h

I didn't dislike Deja Vu or even GitS Arise. But both of them were below the quality of the rest of the franchise. Deja Vu totally felt like an OVA episode while the OVA actually felt like a part of the franchise. In the case of RahXephon the OVA was practically my favorite episode.

I wouldn't call Gen my favorite writer. I don't really have a favorite writer. But Gen feels to me as the most relatable writer. He's like that actor you love that also kind of looks like you. For an added plus, he understand his own characters. When I watched Monster (some time after finishing both Psycho-Pass Seasons) It felt like Naoki Urasawa (the creator) didn't know know shtick about his own creation which was acutally created through indirect means (I suspect). When I watched Monster I could swear I knew Johan better than the creator and later I came to think that Gen Urobuchi felt the same. Namae no nai Kaibutsu (Psycho-Pass) ending is a term that's deeply related to the entire story and Themes of Monster. Since Naoki Urasawa didn't get the character he ended up creating, the final ark of Monster was a complete nose-dive. Psycho-Pass on the other hand not only directly took on its chaotic neutral antagonist (Not Villain) but also tried to show the full extent of the being by pitting him against the Sybil System Which was again expanded upon the second season (Artificial Idiosyncrasy and its ultimate failure resulting in above 800 Psycho-Pass)

Gen had both the intellect and the balls to confront and explain what made Makishima, Makishima. I'm only disappointed about him not talking much about what Psycho-Pass actually mean (A form of self-judgement which Makishima makes peace with resulting in his Idiosyncrasy.) Makishima is a witness without judgement.

Monster talks about a world without names (Nameless Monster). What are names but labels. One who makes peace with his/her individuality (Like Howard Roark from Fountainhead which is a character inspired from an architect who designed a home that looks much like the home of the professor that Akane and Kougami visit) stands out without the constrains of the society and become unfit to be judged by existing labels and moves on to the Blue and Orange scope of morality.

First off, your breakdown and analysis of the anime is superb. I very much agree with it as well. Although, I must admit to being a fan of a few of the Gundam animes if only for the sheer visual spectacle of their battles.
However, Aldnoah was indeed a refreshing take on the mecha genre. The protagonist and company were, for the most part, fairly average in terms of power to their enemies' almost unfathomable technology. It was interesting to see how a clear mind, intellect, and stronger tactics of a protagonist could overcome much more powerful opponents. That was what really piqued my interest in the anime.
Overall though, you really hit the nail on the head regarding the many draws of Aldnoah amid its genre. I look forward to more of your posts on other animes.

Sunrise really does put ΛLDNOΛH.ZERO to shame with its latest works. That is to be expected as A-1 Pictures is just mostly a group of contractors instead of a solid in-house staff like Ufotable etc.

For a non-anime recommendation I urge you to check out The Admiral: Roaring Currents which features a one hour historical recreations of one of the greatest navel battles ever (12 ships vs 333) and it's kept very much historically accurate.

Also try Ender's game which is basically 12 year old Inaho with more leadership personality fighting a space war.

It doesn't come as a surprise that Sunrise has outdone Aldnoah in its wake. Once one sees what works and stands out, it always makes sense to stay with those aspects and build upon them especially given the ability to go with a more quality driven aspect that was previously left to contractors.

As for your recommendations, I have seen Ender's Game which was a mesmerizing visual treat and such a fantastically enthralling story and characters. However, I will have to check out your other recommendation since I haven't heard of it before now. I look forward to it and thank you for the recommendation.

You can find few more good recommendations from my discussion with @feenix on this post. It really sucked to see Ender's Game become a flop. I still thank my friend for recommending it. You can also check Heroic Age. The fights were sub-par but the story, themes, philosophy and drama was top notch. And the ENDING!!!! THE ENDING!!! It was just perfect and sublime.

If you like Urobutcher you'd also like Confession of Murder (which is about a serial killer becoming a celebrity and the action scenes were well made) and Oldboy.


I will definitely check out that string to find more recommendations, but that Heroic Age, I have seen it! What astonishing anime. The fights weren't top-notch, but the sheer scale of the battles and the thought-provoking nature of the notion amid the story were amazing. I only wish there was more of the anime! I have seen the original Old Boy too. That movie was surprisingly good. Much better than I anticipated. Never heard of Urobutcher though. It has a fascinating premise to start. I will have to look it up for a viewing. Hopefully, it's reminiscent of "I Saw the Devil". That movie was great, and the star of Old Boy was in it as the antagonist. It was very much the essence of antihero and revenge movie tropes taken to an extreme.

I Saw the Devil was really good. But both Confession of Murder and Oldboy was better than I Saw the Devil IMO. Lady Vengeance and Joint Security Area from the Oldboy director were also really good.

If you like martial arts you should try Man of Tai Chi (for the story/themes) SPL trilogy because it's so damn good and Raid and Raid to because the following scene was actually cut out of the movie to make it a better movie.

There is so god damned much in this post. You are indefinable, which is probably the way you like it. Wish I could do more than upvote. Maybe I will try a resteem. Never did it. I have been following for awhile and have not been able to find a single label or symbol to stick on you. Keep on keepin' on and never give yourself up.

Thanks a lot. I've seen your upvotes on my posts. I think life has 2 types of very powerful forces behind life. Going with the flow and controlling the flow. Destiny and Human Action. Best way to put it: Present consequences of past actions and future consequences of present actions.

Better you master these 2 Yin-Yang aspects, the less you become like a solid, then a liquid and then gas. I'm currently like the air and I think the hardest part of the mastery is yet to come. It's the Void/The space that isn't a thing but carry all things with it.

Happy to talk to you.
Happy steemitng !

The overall art design is beautiful, very atmospheric. The only „criticism” this show usually gets is the use of CGI, but after re-watching those scenes Ill call it good. Apart from a few scenes where the Terran mechs looked really clunky most of the time they were using various tricks to make the robots blend into the background which included the clever use of camera angles, lighting, colors, smoke, snow etc... The show is easy to follow and visually appealing.

This is why I called the lack of budget a flaw. BLAME! and Tales of Zestiria the X didn't have those problems for the most part. I'd also really like a season 3 where they go to Mars. The ending seemed like there was more to come. I just can't wait for the next season of Code Geass and I really wish Makishima Shougo was alive for a Psycho-Pass season 3.

Most of the criticism I hear about it is about the writing being very weak surrounding the characters and plot. There are lots of complaints about the protagonist being whiny pilot jesus.

Ah...it seems we two started on steemit around the same time and have all the numbers in profile almost same. Just check it.

Now when people say my posts are too long I can use you for an excuse.
Great stuff. Get into writing about Ancient Aliens.
As for Ramayana, I think it's as good as 300 and 300: Rise of an Empire (2 of my favorite movies). A lot could have mutated throughout the times. But I do think they are based on some actual events. I wouldn't treat it or Mahabharata as history.

There are two forces: fate and human effort - All men depend on and are bound by these, there is nothing else.
-- Krpa (The Book of the Sleeping Warriors)

That was a long post. I can't say I read everything yet, but I enjoy your hard work on this one.

Take it slow. I see you are a massive anime fan like me. So I'm following you for great content.

Wonderful post ... Pls I would really appricaite it if you up vote my posts.. Your wall is one I look forward to becoming @vimukthi.. Thanks a lot ..

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @vimukthi to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57