EXPLODING KITTENS!!! - Game Review #1

in #entertainment7 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone!

I hope this post finds you well! Growing up, my family has always been a close-knit unit. We have always enjoyed spending time with one another and playing games. I was fortunate enough to marry a wonderful woman who's family was the same. That being said, I have had exposure to a wide variety of card and board games. Seeing as how I thoroughly enjoy (most of) them, I figured I could share them with you all as well, in the hopes that you may also enjoy them!

Thus begins my first installment of my Game Review series: Exploding Kittens!


Source Here

Exploding Kittens is a card game that involves some strategy and a lot of luck. The rules are simple, and should not take more than 5 minutes for people to understand them sufficiently to get started. In fact, the video embedded on their website states, "Exploding Kittens Explained in 100 Seconds." Feel free to check out the video in the link below:

https://www.explodingkittens.com/video/ek_video_from_youtube.mp4

While this game may sound awful, what with blowing up kittens and all, it is actually relatively innocuous. For starters, the kittens are trying to blow up you, your home, your city, the world, etc. Your purpose is actually to defuse the kittens if possible and survive until the end of the game. The game is wacky, and the art and captions on the cards are hilarious, with just a touch of disturbing. The game itself, is somewhat of a Russian Roulet style game, where you take turns drawing cards, praying that you don't draw the exploding kitten. Fortunately, there are cards that can either defuse the exploding kitten, or assist you in avoiding it, but of course, these can only take you so far. As the deck runs out of cards, your chances of meeting a fiery end increase.

To start the game, the Defuse and Exploding Kitten cards are removed from the deck. Everyone is then dealt 4 cards and 1 Defuse card, for a total of 5 cards in their hand. At this point, the remaining Defuse cards and Exploding Kitten cards equal to 1 less than the # of players are shuffled back into the deck (e.g. if you have 4 players, 3 Exploding Kitten cards are shuffled back in).

Source Here
Source Here

Once this is done, you choose someone to go first, and start taking turns drawing in a clockwise order. If you want to play a card from your hand, you must play it before you draw, as drawing signifies the end of your turn. When playing a card, you simply follow the instructions on it, which are very straight-forward. Here's a brief summary of the cards you can play:

  • Skip: Skips your turn, you don’t have to draw a card.
  • Attack: An opponent must take two turns in a row before it becomes the next player's turn.
  • See the Future: The player can look at the top 3 cards of the deck, but cannot change the order.
  • Shuffle: Shuffles the deck.
  • Favor: Forces a player of YOUR choice to give you a hard of THEIR choice from their hand.
  • Nope!: This allows you to cancel any action, except for an Exploding Kitten. This can be counter-noped however.

Some examples of the cards above are shown below. You can also see what I meant when I was talking about the card art earlier...


Source Here

There are also random cat cards that do not have any instructions on them. Individually these are useless, but if you have 2 of the same card, you can play them and randomly draw a card from a player's hand of your choice.


Source Here

As I just mentioned, after you play your cards (or don't play, it is entirely up to you), you then draw to end your turn. As long as you do not draw an Exploding Kitten, it is the next player's turn. Fortunately, there is no limit for cards in your hand, so if you can, it is often best to stockpile cards until you start getting closer to the end of the game. This gives you more options to not only avoid drawing the Exploding Kitten cards, but it also gives you more options to take down your opponents.

If you do draw an Exploding Kitten, you will need to play a Defuse. This lets you place the Exploding Kitten back into the deck wherever you like, but unfortunately you lose your Defuse. This is one way you can royally screw someone over, by placing the card in order to make a targeted individual draw it. As a result, this game becomes more and more exciting and nerve-wracking as you get closer to the bottom of the pile. If someone draws an Exploding Kitten, but they do not have a defuse, then they lose and are out of the game. The game ends when only one person is left. The complete instructions can be seen here.

Overall, this game is a lot of fun, though it can be equally aggravating. It is largely a game of chance, but there is skill involved in your card management, when you decide to make a move, and who you make the move on. Keeping track of who still has a Defuse is also very handy. If you are into card games, or just games in general, I definitely recommend this. If you enjoy wacky and entertaining illustrations, I would also recommend this game.

While I would certainly not say it is perfect, Exploding Kittens has a lot to offer in entertainment. The rounds are short and sweet, so even if you get knocked out early (which can be incredibly frustrating), you probably won't have to wait more than 10 or 15 minutes before playing again. Furthermore, there is already one expansion out, which adds whole new elements to the game, without taking away from the initial fun and novelty of it. The expansion is called Imploding Kittens. If anyone is interested in learning more about it, please comment below.


Source Here

For those of you who enjoy the artwork, or who want something a bit edgier, there is also a NSFW version. The only difference here is the artwork. Though I myself have not seen what is in it, so peruse at your own risk.


Source Here

Finally, they have released a Party Pack edition that is meant for up to 10 players. This is pretty neat, since the original is only good up to 5. However, my one critique on this is that they made it a completely different game, not in terms of the rules, but the cards have a different back to them, so they cannot be used with the original game. For those who already owned the original, it would have been nice to have the option of an expansion that allowed for more people, rather than having to purchase an entirely separate game.


Source Here

All in all, I give Exploding Kittens an 8/10. Please see the summary and game information below:

  • Genre: Card Game

  • Number of Players: 2-5 Players

  • Difficulty: Easy

  • SCORE: 8 / 10

If you liked this review, please consider giving me an upvote and/or a follow! Also, if you have any recommendations on what I can do to make these reviews better in the future, or even games you would like to see reviewed, please let me know in the comments below. Thanks!

Sort:  

i thought this was a very fun, informative article! (this coming from a person who goes ugh when people squee over kitties).

perhaps could have had a few more pics or illustrations in there. just a note; you should be crediting all of your photo sources, even if they are your own, just for clarity and transparency sake. theres a markup for sub type that might help there. Also, look into other markup techniques like headers and lines.

great job!

Thank you for the tips, critiques, and reminders! I definitely need to learn more about the formatting. To be honest, I just forgot with the sourcing, oops... I'll go back and add the sources right now. Thanks again!

i'll send you a master link post...

This is a really good review buddy. You do a good job going over the basic rules of the game, how its structured, and how to play. The only thing I would maybe add would be to include maybe some examples of games you've played. Give a personal touch to it by talking about fun or surprising moments that could have happened during it.

Otherwise its a very good article.

Good idea! I'll try to do that in future reviews. Thanks bud!

This game actually looks like a ton of fun and I love goofy board games, so I might have to pick this up. Great review!

Thanks! It really is a blast. My biggest frustration with it is that it can be aggravating if you get knocked out early on and have to just sit there while everyone else plays. However, that can also be part of the fun. Have a Merry Christmas!

I have played that game. It was fun 😀

Great, with my friends we really enjoy board games. Ticket to ride with pandemic also made my parents love board games.

It would be cool if you would write more reviews!

I'm glad you have played and enjoyed it! And thank you for the game suggestions/encouragement! I have played Ticket to Ride and will probably get Pandemic for Christmas, so I'm looking forward to that one as well. I'll definitely keep writing the reviews though. Too many great games out there that people don't even know about!

YESSSSS, More board game reviews like this in the future!

Absolutely, will do! Thanks for taking the time to check it out and comment :) The next one should be coming up in the next 1-2 days.

I love a good game review post. I've always seen Exploding Kittens on the shelf in the store in the game aisle, but I've never given it a second glance because I thought it sounded very bizarre.

Your review has made me think that it may actually be fun to give it a try sometime. I hate that I missed this post during its payout window, but I'm very glad that you've joined us over at @thesteemengine! I hope you'll continue to share your great posts with us there!

Looking forward to more game reviews!

Thank you! I didn't realize this post was already this old. I'll make sure to post a newer one next time.

As for the game, it is a lot of fun. A little odd perhaps, but definitely entertaining!

They do sneak up on you, don't they! Glad to know you've got plans for other posts. Do you think you'll review many more games?

Working on another review right now! Will hopefully get it out tonight yet, but it might have to wait until tomorrow.

Great to know. I'll keep an eye out for it!

Never heard of this game seems quite original and fun

Tip!

It's a good one. I'm a bit behind in terms of getting a second game review out, but my goal with these is to introduce people to games that may not be widely known, but are definitely worth playing.

That ta cool idea keep them coming

it's a very funny game! have you tried Imploding Kittens? :)

Yep! I actually really enjoyed that as well. I was worried it would take away from the original, but I felt it really just added to it. The new action cards add some new elements to the game without going overboard. I take it you have tried it as well?

Love exploding kittens, definitely on of my favorite games. I'm thinking of buying there new game Bears vs Babies, have you had a chance to try it yet?

Yes! I actually just played it last night for the first time. I'll probably be writing my next review on it!

Incredibly fun to play with friends. I do recommend picking up an expansion kit or an extra set of cards to play with more than 5 friends. They've also recently released a new game about bears and babies if I'm not mistaken, looks equally as good!

Yep, I agree. The expansion increases it to 6 players, and the party pack (new version of the game) allows for up to 10 players.

As of right now I am actually planning on doing my next review on Bears vs Babies, the new game you were talking about. My wife got it for Christmas and we played it for the first time last night :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59433.20
ETH 2442.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44