OST of the Day #25: Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story - Final Battle!

in #entertainment5 years ago (edited)


Hey Steemit!

OSTs make up the majority of the music I listen to, and they're so underrated I just had to share them! Feel free to listen while reading. 😊

So if you haven't heard yet, the CEO of Nintendo of America, the beloved Reggie Fils-Aimé is retiring! My body was not ready for this news. I was really shocked when I first read about it since he's not that old (57 years). I didn't realise it at first but he's been the president for around 15 years! Man where has the time gone. I guess it's good that he's retiring early enough so he can still have fun with his family and friends.

Here's his farewell video! We'll miss you Reggie!

Anyway, he's gonna be succeeded by the current Senior VP of Sales, and his name is Doug Bowser! With a name like that he'll be a great fit I'm sure! 😄

Image result for doug bowser
If he doesn't appear on stage dressed as Bowser at the next E3 or something I'll be disappointed 😆 Also I see what you did there, Bowser

To that end, I chose a song from one of my favourite Mario games of all time, Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story!

Related image

If you've never seen this game before, Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story is a RPG developed by AlphaDream, and published by Nintendo for the Nintendo DS in 2009. It is the third game in the Mario & Luigi RPG series, and made use of the interactive screens of the DS in some of its gameplay mechanics. The game was super successful (hehe geddit, cos Mario), with most fans (including myself) considering it to be the best game in the series. It sold over four million copies worldwide by April 2011, making it the best selling Mario RPG. A remake for the Nintendo 3DS, titled Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story + Bowser Jr.'s Journey was released in late Dec 2018.

The game's plot involves Mario and Luigi being inhaled into the body of their long-time nemesis, Bowser. The Mario brothers learn to assist Bowser, who is unaware of their presence, as he combats Fawful, who has taken control of the Mushroom Kingdom.

Related image

Oh damn has it really been 10 years since this game came out! I can't really remember where I was in life when I was playing it because I'd get sooo absorbed in this game. But I do remember playing it on my old DS Lite so it must have been a loooong time. I loved everything about it; the art, the music, the new gameplay mechanics, it's such an awesome game I think I replayed it a couple of times too. That nostalgia, sigh I'm getting old. 😔

Anyway, the song I chose for today is the final battle theme, and spoiler alert: it's EPIC af! PLEASE take a moment and listen to this masterpiece:

Obviously, you'd only get to listen to this song during the final battle of the game, which I'm not gonna divulge since it's a spoiler for anyone who hasn't played it. I recently heard this song while playing Smash Ultimate and I got so excited because I didn't know they put it in there! It definitely distracted me a little bit during the fight though. 😅

This song is probably the most epic one in the entire Mario franchise, imo. You can practically feel the epicness from the 7 second intro; that mix of piano and the highly prominent rolling synth notes just before the beat kicks in, and the melody soon after. The piano (with its accompanying airy support) remains at the forefront for the rest of the song but the synth harmony with the beats and the subtle arpeggio/rolling electric piano sequence in the background definitely make this piece absolutely fantastic. All 5 components just mesh so well together it can rival any orchestral soundtrack (and that's coming from an ex-orchestra performer).

Image result for bowser's inside story wallpaper

The top comment on the video explains this song really well:



I think Da Nintendude nailed it; when I was in the heat of the final battle I definitely remember experiencing all those emotions. The upbeat tempo of the song makes players feel motivated to win but the minor key of the piano conveys that uncertainty and fear that you might lose and get a Game Over, causing the world you know and love to fall to total destruction. Kudos to Nintendude for putting all these feels into words. 👏

Yoko Shimomura was the composer for this game and she is an absolute genius. I believe she composed songs for the entire Mario & Luigi series, and she also did Street Fighter II and Kingdom Hearts! She is a true musical talent, and I am so glad I got to enjoy her work with this series. 😍

Thanks for reading!


To find out more about me, check out my intro post here!


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://tacocat.vornix.blog/2019/02/23/ost-of-the-day-25-mario-luigi-bowsers-inside-story-final-battle/

Check out my previous post in this series!
OST of the Day #24: MapleSEA - Go Shanghai! ](https://steemit.com/chinese/@taco.cat/ostoftheday24maplesea-goshanghai-9l9mix44wo)
Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by TacoCat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Bowser joins the Battle!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75