You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TV as Tunnel Vision: Tuning Out Never Felt so Good

in #entertainment7 years ago

I got rid of cable 9 months ago, and haven't watched any TV. I do spend more time on the internet (and lately Steemit!), however, I have more control over what is entering into my mind. This has been a time of trying to educate myself instead of trying to "veg out" and turn off my mind.

Sort:  

I find that "vegging out" with a book, or by being outdoors, or people watching in a café or airport is so much healthier than the Facebook and TV vegging. The internet is great. Like you said, you can control it. After hours of watching TV I would feel so isolated and almost alienated from everything.

Great point. To me, "vegging out" with a book or outdoors is actually filling my mind, even if I am putting on idle mode, where as TV is shutting off my mind. Hard to explain, but a book or outdoors stimulates and at the same time relaxes my mind, whereas TV is a cold shutoff, and opening the valves to receive whatever the producers want to inject.

That's true. Great point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51