DUTCH SAYINGS TRANSLATED #2

in #entertainment7 years ago (edited)

Hi Steemians, Rens here!

Today is the day we've all waited for

Dutch sayings translated number 2!

798956cc3a287871c7057668e5df056c.jpg

For the people who don't know how this works, In this segment of my blog I will try to explain and translate typical Dutch sayings. Let's get started!

  • Ik vertrouw je voor geen meter!
    Translation: I dont trust you for a meter.
    Meaning: I don't trust you at all!
    I use this saying a lot if someone is telling a story that is not true in my opinion.

  • Het zal me een worst wezen!
    Translation: It shall me a sausage be.
    Meaning: I really don't care. This one is used when you with your friends are discussing something and you actually don't care. Het zou me een worst wezen!

  • Helaas pindakaas!
    Translation: unfortunately peanutbutter
    Meaning: uhhm, this one is actualy really hard to translate. It means like if something didn't succeed but you don't want to be very sad about it you say helaas pindakaas!

  • Het is pikke donker buiten!
    Translation: It's dick black outside
    Meaning: It's very dark outside, this Dutch saying is actually very weird of you think of it hahah!

That was it for today! I will be back tomorrow with a new post.
Have a wonderful day and don't forget to follow and upvote!

Rens

Sort:  

hi @ressmit just to let you know that it has to be "het zal me een worst wezen" instead of "het zou me een worst wezen". lol

Thanks for correcting me haha! Hope you liked the post anyways.

yes I like it! The translations can get pretty funny :-)

Hehe.
In Afrikaans we say " Dis nou maar wors"
Roughly translated as 'It is now just sausage.'
Meaning " That's the way it is'. Or 'That's the way things worked out. It is what it is and you can't change it now."

Maybe "helaas pindakaas" is simply "too bad", no?

yes too bad or it is what it is.

"it is what it is" would be translated as "het is wat het is", nietwaar?

Maar dit geeft me wel een ideetje voor een post, Nederlandse spreuken op z'n van Gaals.

That's too short through the corner, puttin the pressure on the kettle, enz

Or simply, "Grapes are sour", LOL!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53