A Quick Salute to Dave Chappelle

in #entertainment6 years ago (edited)

5a4baf0f4aa6b5bd198b7912-1920-960.png

Years ago Chappelle changed the comedy game. His show was next level, his stand up was next level. See all his specials.
They are all great.

maxresdefault.jpg

This week I watched one of his new sets, The Bird Revelation, and it floored me.

He makes some powerful statements. Not many comedians are doing work that matters, and it is one of the most important art forms for a healthy, growing society and world.

dave-chappelle-bird-revelation-telling-ugly-truths-1.jpg

The intensity of how his show ended years ago also stands as interesting to me, revealing.
In this special he makes some telling statements about that. "What if these rapes aren't the worst thing going on in Hollywood?" That's a hell of a question for someone in his shoes, with his past success, power, access to ask.

dave.chappelle.the_.bird_.revelation.2017.jpg

Regardless, the special is hilarious.
Power to Chappelle, always.

Be well.
http://www.LionSuit.com

Sort:  

I completely agree about Chapelle's natural talent and bravery, and about how hilarious he is.

I've seen Dave Chapelle do stand-up twice in my life, once back in the day, in Los Angeles, and once, recently, in London.

Both times, his material was original and on point, both times I was bellylaughing, and both times, I saw in him the animated mannerisms and intonations of a man who must have studied the master, Richard Pryor. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66