You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: TGIF with @jeaniepearl.....episode 1

in #entertainment6 years ago

What is your say about a girl/guy in a relationship, keeping a bestie of the opposite sex?

Hmm, that's a trick question; I'll answer it the way I can.

Personally, I don't think it's a good idea. I have no problem with my girl having friends of opposite sex, but when that person becomes 'bestie', hmm....

I mean, isn't your significant other supposed to be your bestie? What do you need another bestie for?

Besides, we are humans; no matter how much we try, we always show a level of favoritism. Now, in the case of the bestie issue, who will she show the most love to? Before you answer the boyfriend, remember the idea behind bestie - best friend. This means he's someone you're comfortable with and can share your deepest thoughts and feelings with. Besides the girls that say they want to have male besties, how will they feel if their partner's decide to have female besties too? We should all learn to be content.

My own is simple: date your bestie. If you cannot, then leave him alone. You can be friends and all that. But it's unfair to your partner to have a bestie beside him.

PS: Although I wrote from the perspective of a guy, my answer cuts across both sexes.

Nice show. Your guest was fun too.

Steem on

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment and your wonderful contribution

Nice contribution @iamthegray.
But, what happens in the case that they have been besties before you came into the picture as was the case with me before I got married?

Smiles

I can't say I didn't expect that question.

I think what we have here is a problem of definition. If you mean bestie as in the sense that they share things together and all, I'm down with that. In fact, I can't get involved with someone who doesn't have people she share things with. That's a very bad sign and speaks volumes about her ability to build and maintain relationships.

What I have an issue with is the definition of a bestie as your best friend. In fact, this isn't just about male or female bestie. It's about the place your partner occupies in your heart. Your partner should be your best friend. If you guys cannot have that kind of relationship, then something is wrong.

Yes, you guys have been together before I came into the picture. And I'm now in the picture and I expect to be in the centre. This isn't about being possessive, it's about giving me a fair return of what I give to you. I have friends too. Imagine we both keep besties with whom we still share stuff as if we aren't together, like there's nothing special about our relationship that should give me a firm place in your heart.

If I can never take the place of your bestie and you want to get married to me, I'm sorry. Na problem e go cause.

Clears throat

that's all

I totally concour with you, what a brilliant contribution and view,why marry someone who's not your bestie in the first place. Lovers should be the best of friends, thats maturity.God bless you.

Thanks for your support sir

It's good to finally meet someone who sees things from my perspective

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61964.40
ETH 2998.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47