My First Engrave Post

in #engrave5 years ago

So here we have it, my very first post using the Engrave blogging platform. I've been using the Steem blockchain for over a year now, blogging on Steemit and Busy, but I've been wanting more flexibility in appearance of my blog. I've also been meaning to point my main domain, adetorrent.com, to my posts on the Steem blockchain. I was on the verge of signing up for hosting service so I could run Wordpress when I was reminded of Engrave, so I thought I'd give it a go to see how I feel about it.

engrave.jpg

Creating the blog itself was easy. Since I already have a Steem account, it was as easy as loging in via Steemconnect. Once that was done, I went through the motion of pointing my domain to Engrave servers at my providers website.

From there, I started creating this blog post. At this point, it is a very rudimentary system with only 3 templates to chose from. Having said that, the platform is at it's infancy, and has the potential to be great. I can imagine more templates will be added going forward.

The word processor is also very basic. It has no image uploader, or spell checker. This means you have to pre-upload your images and grab the URL for the post. It also means you have to type the text externally if you need a spellchecker like I do.

In fact, I typed this up quickly in Busy.org first before pasting into Engrave. Obviously that's not ideal. If I already typed it in Busy, then why wouldn't I just publish there? I hope the word processor will be updated soon with a spellchecker. Also, we need an image uploader like the other dapps, unless one is already available that I somehow missed.

One thing I do like, actually, is the 15% fee and the fact that it's charged out of the revenue of the post. I know this might rub some people the wrong way, but if you think about it, if you are making no revenue on your posts, you're paying nothing! This means beginners that tend not to make any money on their posts can blog for free until they start making money. That's a very sustainable model.

For now though, I will still be looking to set up a Wordpress site + Steempress for my needs. I will blog here once in a while to support the platform. I will keep an eye on development to see when I can start using Engrave more permanently. My domain will point here for now (at the expense of my YouTube traffic), until I complete the setup of my Wordpress site.



banner-grey.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com


Originally posted on Ade Torrent. Steem blog powered by ENGRAVE.

Sort:  

Not seen this Engrave you talk of, however awesome to hear you setting up a WordPress site! Look forward to seeing the result. Love.the domain too got a nice ring to it adetorrent 😉 met this cool... **sorry tall (damn spell checker) chap with that name in Poland 😉😉😉

Posted using Partiko Android

LOL. Yeah, I think they will become more known very soon :) hahah.

Especially with the infamous are using it haha

Posted using Partiko Android

@adetorrent, Good to read your experience. May be today this platform is in it's infant stage, let's hope that over the peroid of time it will expand with more improvements and innovation. Stay blessed and enjoy the day.

We are still in the development stage and introducing new features as fast as possible. Hope to get more feedback from you :)

Keep up team and wishing you success and growth.

Yes we do hope. Have a nice day too

Thank you so much brother.

Never heard of Engrave to be honest. Great to learn. Best Wishes Ade😊

Many thanks! :)

You should definitely try :)

Can engrave site save the draft while you write on it?

It can, yes, but I won't write in it since there's no spell checker.

I just enabled spell checker, will be online later today :)

That's amazing. Thanks

So you took your money out of steemit in the last 2-3 days :) Changing baskets?

Posted using Partiko Android

Great to see more front-end options continue to become available and expand. Given the diversity people seek, having alternatives will be great. I have almost completely stopped using Steemit as the alternatives are much better and complete in my opinion so having more will add to ability to no longer depend on Steemit Inc on the front end!

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very cool! So you if I understand correctly, all you need is a registered domain name, and then you just point it to Engrave? So you don't pay for hosting? Only the 15% of your earnings? That is pretty cool...

There are at least three ways to use Engrave:

  • blog in our subdomain (like mycoolsite.dblog.org or mysecondsite.engrave.site)
  • blog in your custom domain - if you own one, you can just point it to our server as @adetorrent did
  • buy a custom domain using SBD or STEEM and it will be configured automatically, just a few clicks :)

And yes, you don't need to pay for hosting etc. Right now we're taking 15% commission for posts added using Engrave but it will change soon. And it will be much blogger friendly :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69788.22
ETH 3727.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75