Origin of Expression: The Whole Kit and Caboodle!

in #english6 years ago

This is a fun expression, it's even more fun to investigate since both those words pretty much sound nonsensical, so there's that extra layer to uncover.

I'm not sure this will be as popular as last weeks investigation on the origin of the Expression Bum F#@% Nowhere.


Source
No, it has nothing to do with Urination Fetish Kit pictured above that I found while googling for this piece.

Expression

The whole kit and Caboodle; not sure if this one is worldwide or often used everywhere but it simply means you a lot of things or everything you need for a task. It can be used in reference to just about anything.

You may say "Wow, the kid's got the whole Kit and Caboodle for Christmas." or "Crap, why'd you pack to much stuff? You have the whole kit and caboodle"


Source

It also has nothing to do with that really crappy cat food (based on the ratings in the source) in the photo above.

Origin

Mostly we have to define Kit and Caboodle to make this make sense. We'll start with kit since that's the easy one.


Source

Certainly nothing to do with Kitt, from Knight Rider.

Kit

This is one I actually use, since this term is still often used in the army in reference to any supplies, equipment or gear you may use. Like a toolkit. You'll often hear 'go draw kit from the QM', or 'pack all the kit your going to need'. I even still call my shaving kit, my ablutions kit which gets alot of sideways looks.

Caboodle


This one is a bit older and has totally fallen out of regular use. In fact the original form of the word is actually just boodle and it's felt that the 'ca' was just added to help with alliteration for this expression. (I mean it does sound better than "kit and boodle".) Anyways a 'boodle' is an old English word meaning a bunch or bundle. Through it's history is was used to refer to a group of people or also a stack of money, but it's been a long lost word for many years. It seams to have faded from use in the early 1900s, but despite this the expression has survived.

So then the whole kit and caboodle actually just means a bunch of stuff and is actually just the literal definitions of the words.

Well hope we learned a bit and had some fun, continue to impress your friends with your new found knowledge

Sort:  

Jeeze I hop this comes up in my next trivia competition.., then I can really impress lol! Thanks for sharing!

Just a bunch of stuff hey? #sobasic

IF you are going to pee on your partner I feel like you should just do it for free and say fuck it to the kit! It is probably just someone else pee!

Yeah, real pee is free, not sure this weird fake stuff would actually do the trick anyways, but who knows what people like.
Thanks for stopping by.

Gawd! I hope this doesn't take off and pee is suddenly a commodity!

They didn't believe it would happen with water and look at us now.

Only for weirdo's I certainly won't be buying any Pee....lol

Haha yah I also don't have pee funds in my monthly budget lol

Lol...good research @phelimint! I honestly had never considered where that expression came from. But then again, I also never knew that you could buy pee in a box for your partner Lmao!

Thanks for resteeming my ssg intro post, appreciate everyone commenting!

Yeah, I was surprised when that photo popped up, what a strange thing indeed.

Nice. I’ve had drunken conversations with my buddy about this. Now I actually know 😀

Now next time your together you can impress him with your new knowledge.

Haha I haven’t used this one in years. I think when I first heard it I though it was “the whole kitten kaboodle”. Now that you’ve explained the meaning, it makes perfect sense

Yeah, the kitten part doesn't make a whole lotta sense.

The whole kit 'n caboodle... yeah that sounds better than kit and boodle. So a boodle is a bundle and a kit is kit so a kit 'n caboodle means your bundle and your kit. @ironshield

Makes perfect sense eh? Better than most expressions that are pretty much nonsense.

That'd make a good name for a cat;
Kitten Caboodle.

There you go, prefect name of a cat.

Hmm... thanks for the explanation!

My pleasure man, it's fun to share these.

This is a fun word. To be honest, this was my first time to hear about the word.

Hmm, guess it's not popular where ever you are.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67241.02
ETH 3727.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77