Origin of Expression: Bum- F*#@ Nowhere.

in #english6 years ago

I'm not going to an explicit in the actual title, but I'll start using it later. This expression was a special request investigation from @Ausbitbank from a chat the other day on discord.


Source

I was surprised to here this one is popular in Australia but I guess its so awesome it's everywhere.

The Expression and meaning

If you not familiar with it, it is used when referring to some middle of nowhere place.

You would say, I Have to go visit my family in Butt-Fuck Nowhere.

There are many minor variations in this expression including bum-fuck Egypt, or Bum-fuck Iowa. You can really just change to nowhere part to any other place, and bum with butt. It's very sophistical stuff.

It's also often abbreviated to just BFE, or BFN.


Source

The Origin

Of course it's not very clear as usual but I've dug up a few theories.

It seams to be clear that is started as "bumblefuck" which seams to have a long standing history being used to refer to any remote location.

Then at some point it morphed to butt-fuck, it seams to began to be heavily adopted by the vulgar crowd of military members and students in the 70s and some feel the influence of the move Deliverance in 1972 had something to do with this change from bumble fuck to butt fuck.

In fact the Egypt part has a much more interesting background.

On potential Origin just suggests it was started as Egypt do a military outpost that was there and very undesirable place to be station due to it's remoteness.

The other origin of the Egypt part refers to a part of Southern Illinois knows at Little Egypt, it has towns named Ciaro, Thebes, and Karnak. They say this may have been used by mobsters and criminals in the glory days of Chicago to refer to some secret hideout, south of Chicago.

Hope this clears up the mystery, If anyone has any burning requests for the next investigation let me know


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Haha I like this. You should do a series on some other lesser known expressions. I haven't used this expression in ages, but clearly remember using it a lot when I live in bumfuck nowhere, ontario.

Sorry I missed this comment 9 days ago, but this is exactly what I'm doing man, every week finding the definition and origin of one everyday expression.

Good stuff, always good to learn new things. And no worries, the holidays are busy times, people have lots to do, replying to steemit comments takes a backseat sometimes.

@phelimint I have always enjoyed using Bum-Phuck Egypt.......See what I did there to clean it UP slightly ??

West bumble fck or butt fck idaho were two popular ones when I was in high school.

Hahaha, this is funny! I love finding out the origin of phrases and words, it’s akways so interesting,

Great post!

#thealliance

My wife is big on mobsters in our area (the Chicago area) I should ask her if any of the books she's ever read on there lives to mention them using this term and see what she says.

Beep!Beep! @shadow3scalpel & listkeeper @chairborne have your six new veterans, retirees and military members on STEEM. We’ll be patrolling by to upvote your posts (because you are on the list) and we'll answer any questions you leave us. Comment by @shadowspub. This is a opt-in bot.

Interesting. I say BFE all the time but never thought about the origin lol

Quite interesting, but actually a share that gives information to every clan. Thank you ...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by PheliMint from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love this! We have always referred to it as BFE where I grew up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64187.97
ETH 3476.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49