Have You Done Your IELTS?

in #english6 years ago

IELTS or International English Language Testing System is one of the most popular ways you can obtain a certificate on your English proficiency. Over a million people around the world take the IELTS exam annually. The UK, Australia and New Zealand are among the top countries who require you to have an IELTS certificate if you wish to migrate to these countries.

There are 2 main categories of this examination focused on evaluating you for the purpose of your English knowledge. IELTS Academic qualification is suitable for those who are going abroad for studies. IELTS General qualification is suitable for those who are going abroad for work.

There are 4 main areas under which your English proficiency will be tested under this certificate. Namely;

  1. Speaking
  2. Listening
  3. Reading
  4. Writing

Each area has a separate set of questions and different evaluation criteria. For an example; Speaking test checks for your ability to continue a dialogue and even argue on your points a little bit. Whereas, Writing test merely includes writing a letter or an analysis of a graph and a short essay. All three tests, except for Speaking, are very structured.

Have you taken your IELTS exam? Describe your experience.


Image Credits: passportusa.com

Sort:  

I have and I have to say it is tough. You don´t really get much time to rest between tests all, considering all tests are intense. The speaking part is kind of subjective because you get a human examinator. In my case I got this little old lady, she was grumpy that day so my grades were low. During my prep for the IELTS all my teachers said that my speaking was
impeccable so the only reason I can come along is that the old lady mess my grades.

I would have to agree with you that the Speaking test could be quite biased. However, the lady I got was super helpful and nice.

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is decidedly so

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

Very irrelevant answer

Congratulations @adammcdonald! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
You published 4 posts in one day
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63626.14
ETH 3107.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87