You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Congratulations to the Top 3 specifically. @Janton, @glenalbrethsen, and @lynncoyle1, great job.

I'm thinking that we should probably just rename the Leagues into "The Janton prize fund." This was his "real week off" and he still put up ridiculously high numbers. Seriously, over 1,000 comment and over 200,000 CL? How is that a week off, man?! Well done.

Glen, you're going to have your work cut out for you if you want to catch him. Or you're going to need to petition @abh12345 to weight the scores based on the days that you're active. Since you're offline for 36 hours every week (from Saturday evening to Monday morning) your score should be adjusted accordingly. If that were to happen, you would have scored 51,500... only 400 points behind Janton. That means you're close.

Lynn, you're holding your own against the heavy hitters. I'm proud of you.

I slowed down a lot this past week. It felt good. I think I hit a much more sustainable place this week. I was online far too much last week and it was leaving me burned out. This week was nice in that I got time in the pool and got to see the outdoors a bit. Can't complain about that.

Asher, thank you for the prize money. As always, I immediately powered it up as I'm taking a long-term approach. Thanks for the boost!

Sort: ย 

howdy @themanwithnoname! you did darn good for slacking off this week like I did. Maybe we should use timeclocks? Did you see the CL number that Glen got? wow. isn't that the all time record? and like you said that wasn't 7 days. amazing.

Yep. CL record. Nope. No timeclocks. I'm keeping track of enough as it is, and now Asher is talking about another metric I'll have to figure how to track. :)

let me know when you figure it out, I love it when all the smart guys on here figure things out and let the rest of us know what's going on!

Well, for it to do any good, I would have to track it as it's happening. Which probably means writing down people's names and putting a tally mark beside how many times I interact with each individual. Problem is, the idea here is to meet people, not game the league list, so since I'm already trying to see where I'm at on a daily basis with C, CR, and CL, keeping track of something else takes me that much more away the engagement part. I become an engagement tracker, which isn't the same thing. :)

that's very true but you're a tracker so you are compelled to keep at least some data which is really practical, logical and savvy. I don't track anything and have no idea where I'm at! I have to ask YOU where I'M at! lol

No timekeeping for me. I go into the results post with no clue how I did. I posted like mad on Saturday evening to get caught up because I had some from Thursday and Friday that I hadn't gotten to. I feel bad about that.

you should sir, we were severely disappointed in you. lol, just teasing, lost of things slow down anyway on Friday through Sunday don't they? I have no clue about alot of things!

I would be disappointed, but I wanted to take time off, so I did. It was nice. It helps me recharge. I'm actually probably going to try to find other things to post on than just silver because I haven't had the money to be buying a lot more, and I want to keep things interesting for myself. We'll see what I come up with.

somehow I don' think it's going to be a problem for you to come up with something!

I came up with that frog thing, so I guess that's something!

ha! you make this stuff look easy.

Thank you @themanwithnoname! I too took more time off this week in search of a more "sustainable place" too :) It's too nice out to be on your computer all day anyway :)

It's gorgeous! Gotta take advantage of summer. It's sort of always summer where you're at, but still, it's very nice, so enjoy!

It is always summer here, but I know in Vancouver, if it was sunny, I got really grumpy if I couldn't make it outside to enjoy it. Summer is so short on the west coast!

Being inside when there are limited sunny days is the worst. And if you don't get out there quickly enough, you'll miss it. Then you'll walk out to your car and find this.


source

Yo, @themanwithnoname. Janton's time off is like me taking fifteen minutes to scarf down some food, so "real week off" is right. Probably needs more quotation marks for emphasis. He's got it wired, though. Great network of people who will comment back and he's built it in a very short period of time. It's all the real estate glad handing he used to do, and the Texas charm. :)

I'm alright with the time I have. Makes me more focused when I'm on. And, at whatever point I might manage to catch up (which is not looking so good right now), it will just be that much more meaningful, considering I was the guy who stopped accepting prize money because I had more time than anyone else in the league to dedicate to it. I got want I wanted (someone with time), so now I've got to stay in the game with the time I have. I really don't mind chasing. It's better than having my head on a swivel. :)

I can see that my C and especially my CR levels have to come up. There's no two ways about it.

By the way, congratulations on coasting into fifth place. :)

I have faith that you'll get it one of these days. With it being so hot in Texas right now, I think Janton is confined indoors, so he has a lot of time right now. Maybe once it cools down a bit he'll finally do that yard work and you'll be able to overtake him.

Thanks! I was surprised, but I'll take it. That's 1.5 more Steem for the pile. One day maybe it will be worth something and I'll be able to sell a bit and buy my wife something nice as a "thank you" for letting me spend more time than I should on here.

Well, it could happen. I don't need him to take off any time, though. I just need to come up with more comments. That's been the problem all along, and now it's come back to haunt me. Or something. That sounds way too dramatic. It's not that big of deal. Janton's putting in the time and he's doing it right, so that's the way it should be.

If/when I do manage to surpass him, I want it when he's at his best, not taking time off for yard work. So, I'll just keep going and see what happens. As it is, my wife has all kinds of plans for us tomorrow, even Plans B and C, so my attempt to push the CL further and/or overtake him will probably end up derailed.

That's a good attitude to have. Some people want to win. Others want to best their opponent when the other person is still at the top of their game. There are winner and conquerors, I guess.

Hopefully you still have time that you're able to make the rounds and get some CL going.

I'm behind on CL from last week but I'm going to be slightly ahead on comments. Not sure what that combination is going to help me with though. Both need to be higher I'm afraid. So, we'll see. I still need to try to get at least one post out. Managed two yesterday so I'm ahead of where I've been in past weeks.

Well, there always seems to be a mental asterisk placed against a win anytime one or the other competitors isn't quite at their best. Don't need that. It's either win or lose outright, even if though there always seems to be circumstances.

That's right, you keep track. I just do what I do and then see what happens, so I don't know where I'm at.

Can't tell you which combination is going to work best. Higher is better in terms of winning the contest, but it's not as easy to get there. Posts do help though. Those give people opportunities to talk with you about things that you want to discuss, so it's probably easier to get long replies out to them.

Even if someone isn't at their best, a win is a win, but there's something particularly sweet about overcoming them when they're at their peak.

Well, there's far more not keeping track than that are, so you're in good company. I'm just crazy. :) Actually, it's what helps me get out and doing things so I guess for as long as it works, I'll keep doing it.

Posts are important, as long as people see them and wantt to talk about whatever it is. I've been kind of engaging with a select few on my posts lately. I'll have to create a tag called, #whatglenlikes and then form a community around it. :)

Yeah. And then you have to do it again when they're still at their peak so you can prove it wasn't a fluke, and then you do it one more time just for good measure. Maybe one after that, just to make absolutely sure. :)

You should create your own tag. It could become the connoisseur's guide to Steemit. "If you want to know what is classy and should be trending on Steemit, use @whatglenlikes." Brilliant, man!

I haven't really been making the rounds to everyone's blogs. I hit a few, but I just haven't been on as much recently. Other stuff on my list of things to do. Real life has required my attention, so I just try to make sure I get my post out, and get to replies within a few days. It's no ideal, but it's something.

Yep, so we're expecting three good wins in a row from you, just to show that you've really got it.

I'm thinking that we should probably just rename the Leagues into "The Janton prize fund."

Ha, seriously!

Grab the prizes while you can I say, I see most of the winners powering up like yourself, this is great :)

A slow-down this week huh, ready for a full attack this time around?

I have a few projects that I'm planning on working on this week. So it might be a "slower" week for me again. My normal activities on Steemit seem to keep me in a range where I can score well enough to get some kind of prize. I like the top 10 ones because it's a bit more than the no-self-vote prize. Every bit helps and it's been nice to see the progress since I hit 500. There really has been an increase in the speed for me.

I should run those numbers and see how I'm doing comparatively to my first 6 months.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66732.73
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66