You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! ๐ŸŽ

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Well, there's far more not keeping track than that are, so you're in good company. I'm just crazy. :) Actually, it's what helps me get out and doing things so I guess for as long as it works, I'll keep doing it.

Posts are important, as long as people see them and wantt to talk about whatever it is. I've been kind of engaging with a select few on my posts lately. I'll have to create a tag called, #whatglenlikes and then form a community around it. :)

Yeah. And then you have to do it again when they're still at their peak so you can prove it wasn't a fluke, and then you do it one more time just for good measure. Maybe one after that, just to make absolutely sure. :)

Sort: ย 

You should create your own tag. It could become the connoisseur's guide to Steemit. "If you want to know what is classy and should be trending on Steemit, use @whatglenlikes." Brilliant, man!

I haven't really been making the rounds to everyone's blogs. I hit a few, but I just haven't been on as much recently. Other stuff on my list of things to do. Real life has required my attention, so I just try to make sure I get my post out, and get to replies within a few days. It's no ideal, but it's something.

Yep, so we're expecting three good wins in a row from you, just to show that you've really got it.

I kind of think for it to work as a tag it would have to be only me using it, right? I mean, that doesn't mean others won't but it just seems like it needs my seal of approval right? Accept no substitutes.

I've been having a hard time today keeping up with anyone's blogs. I've just been working mainly off the replies I'm getting, which I think is good, then going to the feed when I'm not posting my own stuff. I like to keep busy, rather than looking for stuff to do, so I'm okay with that.

Uh, well, let's see. I'll start with one. I'm not sure what to expect this week. I'm ahead in comments but behind in CL, and really, I need more comments in order to get much headway, so I don't know. I haven't seen as much of Janton as I normally do, but that doesn't mean he's not scouring all of the blockchain. He doesn't need to hang around me. :)

Yes, you don't really have control over what tags people use, so someone could misuse the tag. We could always start a flagwar over it! Just kidding.

It seems like you have a fairly good pool of connections from which to pull so you should be able to fill the comments and CL quotas. ;)

I saw Janton start a conversation with someone after the conversation had died. The person wrote a one line response, and he came back with a three paragraph response where he mentioned how he was initiating engagement and that you were a commenting machine or something of the like. I don't remember where it was. That was early today and I can't remember back that far right now. :/

Regardless, I've dropped you a few rather long replies in the last half hour, so you should have a lot of good material to work with. If I don't get back to you before Saturday night, then at least you'll be able to get some good CL that I can read on Sunday. :D

Well, I appreciate that. And yes, you did drop some CL yourself. I almost feel like my work is done here, but your CL is generally higher anyway. At least with me.

re: flag war

I think it would be worth it. Especially if they were bidbotting their way up trending. I know dropping a $0.16 flag bomb on a $350 rewarded post would really make the writer think twice about doing that again. That's what they get for using my tag.

re: connections

I really should find some more. I know they're out there. The problem is finding a community or two to belong to. I have the leagues, and then I make the rounds. Not everyone who is in the league blogs that much, and then there are some where I can't consistently think of anything to say. So, I move on to something else.

re: janton

He thinks I'm going great gang busters, and until today, right now, I was behind in CL. I did catch up to where I was last week, and I am ahead in comments, but I don't think it's all going to be enough. So, I'm just going to try to push the CL record up some more.

He's good at resurrecting dead conversations. He's done it a time or two on mine.

re: commenting machine

Yeah, that's me. Sure he wasn't describing himself? :)

I probably don't need to be writing for the League right now as I don't normally crack the top 3, where the real rewards are, and I should have locked up a top 10 spot... or at least a no-self-vote spot, so I get something. However, I also like conversing, so I'm getting back to as many of the replies as I can.

Those $0.16 downvotes add up. Or add down. I'm not sure how to properly express that.

It's a challenge to find people who will match your speed sometimes. Have you tried mrchef111? I didn't tag him here as he already jumps all over the place, but he's a good conversationalist. I think if you two don't already talk that there's potential for you to both jump to #1 and #2 in the League after you start. ;)

You've still got the rest of the day to go. Maybe you can give me a comment reply on the benefits of walking/running. It should be at least 100,000 worth of CL. Ha ha.

Nope, he was talking about how you were a worthy competitor.

I don't think I could give you much more than this sentence on the benefits of walking/running. I would probably need to walk and run more than a few months at best first before I could actually believe there were any. Okay, that's two sentences. Let's see. Um. I have been thinking I need to get back into some type of exercise, but that's about it. So far my Olympic level thinking hasn't burnt many calories or strengthened any muscles. I'm not even sure if it's helping to get blood to my brain or not. It should, though.

It sounds like to me No. 3 spot is very much up for grabs. Unless something major happens this week wherein Janton doesn't win again and I don't manage second, you could be vying pretty well for third with both Lynn and Gillian. both of them have taking time off/been gone this week, so who knows. I can see it happening if you want it. It's just hard to know where everyone is on comments. That would be the only thing that both women manage to do without really being on that much. In Lynn's case she must just crank at the end of the week.

I have not conversed with mrchef111 to my knowledge, and if I have, it may have happened once. The name is familiar, however. I certainly don't mind more people to talk to, but even I would rather not talk to just to one person for the sake of No. 1 and No. 2.

Did you like how I threw in the "even I" part? Kind of gives it an air of villainy, don't you think? I need a monocle or something. Maybe an eye patch. Or a thin beard and a cape. :)

Walking/running is supposed to get nutrients moving through your joints. I don't know that the doctors have found a connection between thinking and burning calories. Although you burn more when you sleep than when you watch tv. At least that's what they always said when they wanted me to stop watching tv.

I like getting the #3 spot because I get a little extra prize money. It's a lot of work to get there though. And Janton's "weeks off" are still enough to beat you, so if someone else is having an "on week" that means all that commenting will get me 4th at best. I just do my normal, sustainable amount of commenting and call it good.

Oooh, you should get a monocle. And an eye patch. For different eyes. Actually, you should just do all of the above. It would be quite the look.

Well, you don't have to converse with mrchef111 exclusively, but he could be a good one to add to your list of people who are willing to have conversations. He will be joining us in the Leagues this week.

re: mrchef111

Is this another @themanwithnoname recruit? Oh, great. I better watch out then. I'm not sure who else you've helped get here, but I'd say you have a decent track record. Asher was saying Dave recruited something like 100? Is that true?

re: walking/running

Nutrients to joints, eh. Well, I probably could stand some more nutritional joints. Just in case the thing that's chasing me wants to eat me, too.

re: thinking vs TV

Hmmm. I would think if such is the case, if you watched 8 hours of television straight it would equate to more or less the same thing. What you should try though is combining the two. Sleeping and watching TV. Watch those calories burn.

re: Third spot

I feel ya. It's tough getting anywhere in the Top 3. It feels like that third spot has a lot of competition. Well, you do what you got to do. If it's too much work to get there, then it's probably not worth the extra STEEM.

I mean 4-5 STEEM for what I'm doing isn't technically "worth it" but it's all relative at the end of the week and I've managed to scrape together maybe $3 from posts and comments. Unless curie shows up. And she has. Otherwise, though, dribs and drabs.

re: villain ensemble

Yeah, so a monocle over the good eye and the patch over the other. Or, I could put the monocle over the eye patch. Then have the cape, squiggly mustache and thin beard. I forgot to mention the mustachio the first go around, but I'll need that, too :)

smithlabs is another good engager. You should connect with him if you haven't already.

I've seen smithlabs around to. Usually janton, who has said he's very knowledgeable about many topics. Apparently, he never watches hollywood movies, which is probably why he is so knowledgeable. I'll see what I can do. Thanks for the suggestions. :)

Not watching Hollywood movies would give a person ad edge to being knowledgeable. Maybe you guys will have some things in common. I know he has patented a lot of things. That's pretty cool!

That is pretty cool. Very cool. Is he making any money with his patented things? If so, what's he doing here. :) Badumpbum. :)

Well, see it's one of those dual reverse effect dealies. Instead of getting dumber by watching the movies, you get smarter for not watching them. It's kind of like when the offense is about to make a touchdown, but the ball is intercepted in the endzone and ran back for a score.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63