You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Well, @abh12345, another week has come and gone and here we are on your results post.

I'd like to say I took time off intentionally, that I went and did something fun, or anything that might better justify my showing, but I can't because I didn't.

I think I hit the proverbial wall last Tuesday, which basically worsened until Friday, when I finally had a decent day. Saturday, when I could have picked up some more saw me basically fizzllng out again.

I really don't have any rhyme or reason to it. It's not the price of STEEM (although an inability to buy some more is very frustrating), and I'm okay with fewer people participating—there's really nothing I can do about it—but for some reason, I'm in a funk. I'm not intentionally giving up, taking a break, etc. It's just kind of happening on its own. The desire to accomplish something is there, but with a total lack of will to see it through.

Even so, my numbers were good enough for No. 5. I'm not sure if I should be happy about that or not. I look at the numbers from the first week I joined and I would have been in 11th place instead of fifth with last week's showing.

So far today hasn't been all that productive either, which is the reason why I'm finally getting to this so late in the day. I can feel another week of the doldrums coming on. I need to figure out a way to jumpstart my desire to be on Steemit and participate.

I do wish everyone well this week, and congratulations to all the winners. And thanks once again to @curie for sponsoring the leagues.

Sort:  

Some might say you're getting burnt out, but you and I talked this week, so that would mean I am too...which is entirely possible :) I almost asked Asher to take me out of the equation this week because I felt my placement would be dreadful; I'm pleased with 7th all things considered, but I'm not pleased with 7th in terms of what I know to be capable of. I believe you will understand exactly what I'm talking about.

The great thing about all of this is that this is the beginning of another week, the slate is wiped clean and our opportunity is there for the taking. You in? :)

Well, I'm here. The spirit is willing, in fact, probably demanding, but the flesh is getting pretty obstinate. I think it's a combination of things with me, which I guess ultimately means burnout. It's just that there's always more to it than that, right?

I think my main issue is I'm living in a house divided when it comes to STEEM and I'm losing the battle because things aren't going fast enough. I don't know how they could go any faster, I don't think they're really supposed to, but that doesn't quite cut it as an explanation.

If we were really in a bad financial situation (which we're not), me getting back to work and not doing as much of this would make perfect sense. But we're not in dire straits, far from it. It's not like we're without some stress and needing to watch the finances during certain periods of a month, but we're not on the street, we're more than a paycheck away from any major issues (more like two or three months, at least), and we have so many options and resources available to exhaust, with my working being primary, before it could come to any of that, barring accidents and illnesses and so forth, which can always happen and are hard to fully prepare for.

I guess what I'm saying is, the worry about the situation is doing more damage than the actual situation. And I think the inevitability of not being able to convince my wife of that started to weigh on me a lot more last week.

And when that happens, it's hard to concentrate because I start losing sight of the purpose, even though I know full well the purpose and believe completely in the purpose and feel like I am meant to be here. That's where the problem is. Having the certainty of what I'm supposed to do, but without much real support (tolerance is not support), but then still needing to put in a major amount of work without any guarantees, even though I believe this is what I'm supposed to be doing. It's a step into the dark before you get to the light kind of deal.

I understand everything you are saying, and thankfully, Brian has been here and knows what it's all about, which of course makes it much easier to explain the "why are you on their so much?" question.

"Worry" is always worse than the actuality I find. I hope you figure it all out and continue. I too believe in "all of this", but for someone looking for something more immediate, this really isn't the place I'm afraid.

Hi Glen

Sorry to hear about this midsummer lull that you feel you are in. I suspect it is in the minds of more than just you, and I don't think you should be hard on yourself at all.

Steeming should be fun and not a chore, posts and comments don't always need to be epic - just enough to keep your eye in while priorities change is fine I think.

Maybe Dave could help with the STEEM buy. If I had any real amount of fiat I'd take a PayPal and help.

I agree it feels much like a case of stepping into the dark to get to the light - my candle is still burning and the budgie hasn't keeled over yet 😊

I agree. I don't need to be hard on myself. I just need to get over it. :)

I appreciate the listening ear, or is it the reading eye? Anyway, having somewhere semi-somewhat-appropriate to comment about what happened last week is helpful. So thank you.

Steem should be enjoyable, but I'm afraid for me at this stage there is always going to be a level of work to it. Complacency and accomplishment don't seem to go together so well when I'm involved, anyway.

If I ever reach epic on either my posts or my comments that will be EPIC in and of itself. :)

I have some fiat set aside. The issue has become being allowed to use it. Coinbase has decided not to use any card, including debit ones (although they say they still do) that has the ability to act as a Visa or Mastercard. So everytime I try to put in a debit card, it's getting rejected.

If using accounts it takes five business days—to load it up in a USD wallet, or to make a straight crypto purchase. Lately, that might not be such a big deal because the value of things have been going sideways or down, but I had this happen to me a while back and it took a month or so before things got back to favorable circumstances.

So, anyway. I'll figure that out, too. It's just dumb that when prices are better, all of sudden the ability to get it goes away. It should be the other way around. Open up when prices are low and then limit as the prices get exorbitant.

No worries :)

I agree with your last point, it's back-to-front for sure.

Hopefully you've got another route in, @davemccoy wrote a post last week some time that the commentators provided some other, potentially cheaper options over Coinbase.

Good luck for tomorrow :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57941.45
ETH 2579.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39