You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ๐Ÿ† The Curation and Engagement Leagues ๐Ÿ† - STEEM prizes available!

in #engagement โ€ข 6 years ago

Thanks @themanwithnoname I seem to have settled into a bit of a rhythm now.

Congratulations on your bonus. It's always fun to power up isn't it? I'm loving that we're getting paid in Steem again. ๐Ÿ˜Š

Sort: ย 

Yeah, my rhythm is still off, but I still did fairly well. Any week I can get some type of prize is a good week. I power those up and keep on rolling. I'd rather not get paid in steem because of how the calculation is done, but there's nothing I can do about it, so I just take it and power it up.

Yep. Congratulations on your placement @themanwithnoname you're not far off the top ten and, as you say, any type of prize is a good prize.

What do you mean when you say "I'd rather not get paid in steem because of how the calculation is done? I thought getting paid in Steem was a good thing.

Are you saying that it's actually more valuable to be paid in SBD?

Since the prizes have been added for 0 self-votes, I got one of those. That's cool! It feels good to be recognized for not self-voting.

I say that because when we're paid SBD (in regular payouts) it's calculated assuming that SBD is at $1, so we get more than we should. When we also get paid in Steem, it converts some of that SBD payout to Steem, but it also does it assuming that SBD is at $1. Therefore, we lose a bit of the extra that we were getting. With the price of Steem higher than SBD, it's hard enough to "level up" so I appreciate any advantage. It's difficult to lose that little bit extra.

Also, Steemit hasn't done much in the way of transparency to disclose that it's happening. I believe they should change the post payout options (when you create your post) to reflect that it's not 50/50, but that it's 50/35/15 (SP, SBD, Steem). To do otherwise is misleading and dishonest (in my opinion).

I for one had no idea about this @themanwithnoname.

it's not 50/50, but that it's 50/35/15 (SP, SBD, Steem)

I'd just assumed it was good to be paid in Steem because the exchange rate between SBD and Steem is so poor at the moment.

it's calculated assuming that SBD is at $1, so we get more than we should.

Now I understand why many of the witnesses want to bring the price of SBD down. Or at least one of the reasons. ๐Ÿ˜Š

$10 for writing comments, easy money ๐Ÿ˜‹

You're often a bit cryptic for me @abh12345. What does "$10 for writing comments" refer to? ๐Ÿ˜Š

I think it means the steem he gave you is worth that @gillianpearce :)

Oh right. Duh! @lynnecoyle!

I'm not so interested in the US dollar value as I am in being able to power up. I'm waiting for SBD and Steem to go back to 1:1 but I fear I may be waiting forever! ๐Ÿ˜

I think he means the value of the Steem for winning. :)

Yep Thanks @themanwithnoname. As I said to @lyyncoyle1 . . . duh! ๐Ÿ˜

Whoops :D Yes those STEEM are worth about $10 at present, nice!

Very nice yes @abh12345 but it's the power I'm after. ๐Ÿ˜‚

If it's power you're after, I could contact Darth Sidious for you, aka Emperor Palpatine. ;)

Ha, ha, ha @themanwithnoname. No idea what you're talking about but I appreciate the thought! ๐Ÿ˜‚

I thought that might be too geeky. He's from Star Wars. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62938.49
ETH 2469.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62