You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curation and Engagement Leagues 🏆 - STEEM prizes & steem-bounty available! 🎁

in #engagement6 years ago

Congratulations everyone on a very nice week for those in the top 25. Wonderful jobs @janton and @glenalbrethsen, and everyone else, engagement is what in the end will keep steemit alive.

Sort:  

Well, thank you bashadow. It's always nice to be No. 2, even if I am still eating janton's dust. :)

I agree that engagement will be what keeps the social part of STEEM alive. I think it's pretty much left up to us to decide what that's going to look like moving forward, since the big money and focus is on SMTs. So, if we really want to continue being rewarded for what we do with our posts, comments and curation, those of us in the engagement league need to be at the forefront of that.

It would be great if communities would finally arrive, but since there's not been an update on that I've seen for months, no breath holding here.

Speaking of dust, (I can't remember if I told you or not), @dustbunny is a new altruistic vote caster created by @fraenk. His little dustbunny is going around and helping redfish and minnow accounts and all accounts that can only at time cast dust votes. All it takes is a comment on @dustbunny's post and you are added.

Every now and then even though we try not to cast dust votes prices change before payout. I have been trying to be very careful on my vote level on comments. Pretty much content only gets a 50% vote, and comments vary from 50%-70% or more so far. I am sure many others face this issue also.

@dustbunny will protect your outgoing votes that fall below the dust level, (votes you make), and provide the reward you intended to give. He will also provide protection for the incoming votes you receive. (like @dustsweeper), and lift those votes out of the dust level. As much as you and @janton get around and comment I am sure you still get small, (less than dust level) votes. These people wanted to provide you a valuable vote but are at a point they could not, and in these times of RC's we need to ensure that every vote a new user cast is provided a curation reward to them.

So if you and @janton, and of course others reading this comment could head over and add you name to https://steemit.com/steemit/@dustbunny/woah-i-m-a-busy-bunny-there-s-so-much-dust-to-fluff-up , dustbunny's latest post all those who give you a vote would I am sure be surprised to see an increase in their curation efforts.

Hey, @bashadow.

Janton may very well need dustbunny. :) As for me, I'll look into it a bit more. I like the concept, I'm just not sure how much putting my name in would really benefit anyone. The dust votes I normally get are on posts, which fortunately end up with other votes that make it above the dust payout threshold. On comments, I don't often get upvotes, and if I do, they're typically above it and coming from accounts with higher amounts of SP. I guess I would need to go through a week's worth of work and see what was what.

At this point, I'm more concerned about the RC levels of everyone and people being able to function, period. Since delegation helps both RCs and upvotes, that would seem to be the way to go, but there's only so much larger minnows are going to be able to do, so we're back where we started without higher SP stepping in, or another HF.

The RC issue is one of the reasons I like @dustbunny, if the votes of the smaller accounts can count and give even a small reward to the voter then I am all for it, it allows the new user to earn some steem/sbd/sp to power up and get to a "Real" usable level RC wise. His vote comes after so the curation reward for the voter is just a little bit more. No one is going to be getting rich, but he is helping the new accounts and new voters by helping to make their vote count.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46