I survived the END OF THE WORLD over 50 times. Part 1

in #endoftheworld7 years ago (edited)

Let me say that again...

I survived the end of the world at least 50 times
This is not an exaggeration my friends. I was born in 1983 and that makes me 30 something. Since that amazing day I graced the Earth with my presence, there has been well documented predictions of the end of the world. Some by already famous people, and some by those trying to be famous. There are also those people who truly believe to have envisioned the end.

  1. Lester Sumrall predicted the end of the world in 1985 in his book I Predict 1985 George Orwell, anyone? He also tried again in 2000, but to no avail.
  2. Dr. Leland Jensen of the Ba'hai Faith predcited that in 1986, Hailey's Comet would blow earth to smithereens.
  3. August of 1987 José Argüelles predicted that the world would come to an end if 144,000 people did not participate in something called Harmonic Convergence. I must admit, I survived that year.

  4. Edgar C. Whisenant is proof that you can't successfully reconcile religion and science. As a NASA Engineer and Bible Student, he predicted that the Christian Rapture would happen in Sept 1998 then Oct 1988, and finally Sept 1999. 3 strikes.
  5. Elizabeth Clare Prophet aka Guru Ma who was diagnosed with epilepsy and Alzheimers successfully built a following on her prediction of 1990 Nuclear War and end of the world.
  6. Rabbi Menachem Mendel Schneerson affectionately known as The Rebbe predicted that the world would end when The Messiah came back in the Jewish New Year of 1991.

  7. Louis Farrakhan of the (NOI) Nation of Islam declared that the gulf war would be War of Armageddon which is the final war.
  8. Rollen Stewart was a sports fanatic known for his "JESUS SAVES" shirts and Rainbow Afro Wig at sport's games. He is serving a 2 consecutive life sentences for an attempted kidnapping in LA where he claimed he wanted to spread his message about the Rapture which was slated to happen on 9/28/1992.

  9. Lee Jang Rim (이장림 or 李長林) was a South Korean church leader. Through the Dami Mission, he spread the message that the Christian Rapture would happen on 10/28/1992. His followers willingly gave up all of their assets to Lee Jang Rim's church and successfully sued him after they realized pestilence did not sweep the Earth.

    Would you answer to this flyer?

  10. In 1993, non-conformist evangelical, and alleged pedophile David Brandt Berg aka Moses David predicted that Tribulation would start in 1989 and The Second Coming as described in the bible would happen in 1991.

  11. To Be Determined...
  12. Really @xtrodinarypilot?


    Well guys it has been brought to my attention that the world as we know it is set to end on September 23, 2017 which is tomorrow. As you can imagine, this was of no surprise to me. I suppose the media ran out of things to discuss. This made me think about how many times I have heard about the world ending yet I am still here.

    I AM A SURVIVOR

Sort:  

I was born in 1971 and I don't want to think about how many times the earth should have ended...or the Rapture...or...
My big ones are Y2K, the end of the Mayan calendar and Armageddon... no wait... the last one is my favorite movie. Nevermind. Carry on. And I'll see you on the 24th...when we all realize we didn't die.

Looks like your survival skill level is well above mine by 12 years.

Thanks for sharing this post

We were made to survive

Absolutely. I can't dispute that statement at all.

The will to survive is ingrained in the very core of every human being. Humans somewhere in the world prove it every day. Humanity would not survive without this will to live. So, congratulate yourself. You made another day. I worked in a city about 2 and half hours away from my home. I commuted every day. And every day I would pass a man standing in the middle of a busy intersection, holding a sign that said "THE WORLD ENDS TOMORROW". He was in this particular intersection for almost two years. One cold winter morning I stopped and gave him a coffee. Asked him about the validity of the signand was his message getting lost. He said, "No the will come and it could be tomorrow" ...

the end eventually comes. lol

My parents celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary tomorrow. No way the world would end on their special day.

HAHA, this proves that the world revolves around us.

I always know it revolves around me it is the rest of the world who thinks it revolves around the sun. Bahaha for those who don't get it, I am joking....

I woke up this morning with this song in my head. I haven't heard it in forever but could here it playing in my head. Since I think you with this post inspired the song there I thought I would share it with you.

I was writing about this the other month! My, how many apocalypses we have survived... The End of the World has come, and gone, several thousand times since the invention of written history...

;)

I remember Y2K and the argument to my adolescent brain was so enticing that I believe it for about 10 minutes. After that day, I knew I would survive any end of the world scenario moving forward. Lol

Right.

Y2K. Ha, what a rip off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75