You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The End Of Reason: A Glimpse Behind The Curve

I cannot see the horizon because of terrible air pollution. For all I know the edge could be out there somewhere or it could be concealing the curve. Seems like an interesting movie though.
I guess if 360/24 is 15 degrees an hour the earth could be flat like a coin but spinning about an axis.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I'm sure air pollution doesn't always conceal the sunrise/set? Because this is the most conclusive proof that the earth is a globe.

I guess if 360/24 is 15 degrees an hour the earth could be flat like a coin but spinning about an axis.

I did think about this, however there would be no drift, because on a flat rotating disc, because a gyroscope always points straight up. At least I believe that's the explanation.

I might be wrong, although it would explain why the flat earthers didn't come up with this explanation themselves.

Cg

I can't even see shadows at noon nevermind the sun, especially near the horizon which I also cannot see. For all I know it could be closer. Night could very well be an increase in air pollution.
I think the orthodox flat earthers cannot accept that the disc spins. However you can test the theory by sticking a gyroscope on a plate and tilting it.
There is still an issue with gravity. But I am not a flat earth expert.

Posted using Partiko Android

Night could very well be an increase in air pollution

If that were the case nobody would ever see stars; right?

I think the orthodox flat earthers cannot accept that the disc spins. However you can test the theory by sticking a gyroscope on a plate and tilting it.

Could you elaborate on exactly what you mean here please?

There is still an issue with gravity

Again, can you elaborate as to what this issue is?

Thank you.

Cg

  • Stars? No stars to see here. Air pollition 200+ 2.5um ppm
  • If the coin spins on a horizontal axis, a gyroscope on the flat side of coin will still be pointing up.
  • flat disc is said to be moving in same direction, spin would create a force throwing us off. A coin would have to be doing a corkscrew movement. Coincidentally this is how the earth moves if you believe it circles the sun and the sun moves as well relative to stars.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow! Where do you live?

I can guarantee you that there are indeed stars at night, I and billions of others see them.

If the coin spins on a horizontal axis, a gyroscope on the flat side of coin will still be pointing up.

Yes it will, however there will be no 'drift'

Coincidentally this is how the earth moves if you believe it circles the sun and the sun moves as well relative to stars.

It's a not a case of belief, it is something we have proved, the following text is lifted from astronomy.com, however I'm happy to show you other proofs if this isn't satisfactory to you.

Earth’s orbit is huge — some 186 million miles (300,000 kilometers) in diameter. If an astronomer measures the position of a nearby star, and then measures it again six months later, the star’s apparent position against the background of more distant stars should shift a tiny amount.

Observing this would prove that Earth in fact is not stationary. It wasn’t until 1838 that an astronomer finally detected this shift. That year, German astronomer Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel successfully measured the parallax of the star 61 Cygni.

And there’s yet another proof. Imagine standing still with rain coming straight down. To stay dry, you just hold your umbrella directly over your head. As you begin to walk, however, you need to tilt the umbrella “into” the rain, even though the rain is coming straight down. The faster you walk, the greater the tilt needs to be.

As Earth orbits the Sun, we can detect a “tilt” of incoming starlight. English astronomer James Bradley discovered this phenomenon in 1725 by accident — while he was searching for stellar parallax! This aberration of starlight, as it is called, is a result of light having a finite speed and Earth’s motion around the Sun.

Cg

Wow! Where do you live?

I live in Seoul, we have a saying here, "grey by day neon by night".

I can guarantee you that there are indeed stars at night, I and billions of others see them.

Argumentum ad populum
Astronauts guarantee me the Earth is round, politicians guarantee me the country will be better if I vote for them, priests guarantee me heaven if I have faith, etc. I can take your word for it, but that doesn't prove anything.
For hundreds of years, sailors have sailed across the seas coming back with tall tales. Today there are Photoshop and green screens.
Unfortunately, I cannot see the stars or the sky so I cannot use star or sun proofs. I'll have to stick to my gyroscope or wait a few months to observe.

I take the scientists word for it in the meantime as I always have, but I'm still unsure how to prove it is not a spinning coin without seeing the stars or sun.

I take the scientists word for it in the meantime as I always have, but I'm still unsure how to prove it is not a spinning coin without seeing the stars or sun.

I shall give you an experiment to do without seeing the sun or shadows.

Go to a tall tree, or building where there is a fair amount of visibility, perhaps in a park.

Then note how far you can see, then climb up the tree and note how far you can see again. Even with the smog, you should be able to see further when you're higher up the tree than on the ground.

This proves that the earth is curved....

Cg

Good idea, I work in tall building. Maybe I will check top vs bottom but I still need to wait for less dust in the air since I can barely see other buildings and hills10km away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62280.19
ETH 2997.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08