You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Emigrate, leave your life to live better

in #emigrate8 years ago

I have done this a few times. The first time was a snap decision. I chose to exile myself from South Africa in late 1986. I was no longer prepared to do military service for a regime I believed was doing the wrong thing. I made the decision in 20 minutes and booked a ticket 3 months away and left. This decision was not too complicated as I had the right to live in England. I had only my wife and I to consider and we did have to sell our house (which my wife did)

The 2nd decision was to move to Australia. This was a longer thought out process as I wanted to move to a lower cost country so I could retire early. I was approached by the manager of our Australian business to help out with some problems he had and I came visiting in July 1999 and moved in May 2000. Because it was a move inside the business, getting a visa was not too complicated. The move was quite a lot more complicated as I had a wife and 3 children (all at school) and a house to sell. I was comfortable that education in Australia was as good as any in UK.

Now in 2010 I also started the process of moving to Thailand. As it happened, we lived there for a while and came back because of changes in the job market for my (now) wife.

What has that taught me - it is doable and the more you do it the easier it becomes.. It does not have to be difficult. Apply the D's of action
D - Desire
D- Deliberate
D- Decide
D- Do

There is a price to pay in losing contact with all your memories - friends, family, familiar places, etc. Social media helps plug those holes well and airfares are so much cheaper nowadays.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55128.91
ETH 2303.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31