You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is ElsaGate?

in #elsagate7 years ago

I'm alarmed at this progression of psychological manipulation of children. This is not a new thing. I remember watching the first South Park episode with my then young children, and watching a satellite antenna come out of Cartman's ass.

Probably many of Steemit users were raised on South Park. I banished tv in 2000, and while my kids hated me for a while, I recently was thanked by my son for the way I raised them.

Without tv, they read books. In fact I used to read to them, from my collection of pulp sci fi from the golden age. A favorite were tales of Retief, a galactic diplomat, irreverently written by Keith Laumer. I also used to devise my own stories for them, and came up with songs as well to accompany the Rainbow Birds stories.

The only reason your kids might be affected by this garbage is if you leave them to find their own education. They won't know any better.

Think about it.

Sort:  

I get what you are trying to say. But my life would not have been the same without South Park. And I mean that in a serious and positive way. I'm in my late twenties now and I've been watching the show since it's beginning.

You're comparing a well written, comedy driven, socially critical, 18+ advertised cartoon made and created by two famous comedians, with that youtube bot-like harmful garbage stuff intentionally aimed at a kid audience, created by some very sketchy unknown people on the internet. This is nonsensical. With all due respect, you can't compare apples with oranges.

While South Park may have said it was for mature audiences, you yourself were the audience, and many other children were as well.

I know that children can deal with life and death issues, as I did. However, they are impressionable, and parking kids in front of Youtool or a tv, is akin to setting a sponge in a bowl of water.

They absorb culture, as people always have, by watching people, and their brains do not know the difference between people on video and real people, even if they themselves do. They can consciously know that the people on the tv are actors in a fictional program, but their subconscious absorbs the cultural cues anyway.

Books don't do that to our brains.

Read books, but more importantly, make sure your kids do.

Was wondering where you were. Glad to see you here. You'll do well and deserve it. 🕺🏻👍

What a curious reply!

Who am I?

he is talking to ed, the blogger/ vlogger of this channel I bet.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56