Elevators

in #elevators5 years ago (edited)

I appreciate an elevator with a crisp [>|<] close door function.

I want it to shut before anyone misbehaves.

It's my belief that sticking your hand in the way of a closing elevator door is an improper thing to do.

I know that might sound outrageous, but it's because we've gotten used to a cultural norm that actually is grubby and wrong.

I first realized this when I used to stay at a hotel with a really slow door close.

The door would pause and think, then finally begin a slow grind towards closing.

And it was a busy place, so inevitably you'd often get stuck thru multiple cycles of almost getting there, and then someone comes by and ruins it.

Alternatively, they could just wait for a different elevator, which would arrive probably any second, rather than delay a dozen or so people. It would work better for everyone if everyone accepted the norm of not stopping a closing door.

(And while degree varies, it's the same concept even when the door is faster.)

I don't hold for people, but I don't stick my hand in either.

There's something satisfying about it when someone barks "hold the door!" as tho you're definitely going to, and then you just watch it close in their face.

Invalid request.

I know I have the proper etiquette and that they're confused, so I'm totally allowed to enjoy it.

Maybe they'll learn.

Ya, you want to get upstairs as quickly as possible. But so do I. So does everyone inside this elevator.

And the door closing is a fine point to consider the elevator to be in its process of being on its way, and that you missed it.

Just because there physically exists some way for you to stick your hand in and reset us, it doesn't mean you should or that that's a good norm.

It has some parallels to abortion, believe it or not.

When a baby is born, obviously you can't kill it.

And while the birth is a critical event, I see no reason why whatever logic or beliefs tell you that killing is wrong wouldn't also exist slightly prior to when it went down a slide and left mother's body.

If hypothetically there was a way for you to pull an elevator back after the door had closed and it had begun moving, would you?

Of course not, right? Only a grub would do that.

So what's the difference?

I feel like I'm doing effectively that same thing if I were to stick my arm in to block a closing door.

The door beginning to close is the conception of that elevator's motion up or down the stairs, and that's the point where those people should be regarded as on their way, and where I feel like a grub to stick my hand in and make them start over.

The door being fully closed is just when you can't get away with pulling them back anymore. But it was still wrong prior to that.

Another elevator will arrive shortly. You should let this one close and wait.

Sort:  

So you're anti-abortion

Interesting

The door would pause and think, then finally begin a slow grind towards closing.

And it was a busy place, so inevitably you'd often get stuck thru multiple cycles of almost getting there, and then someone comes by and ruins it.

That's what happens every morning at the elevator on campus (especially at the ground floor). It's only four floors so I sometimes take the stairs than keep waiting

I think it's selfish thinking. They don't want to wait for the next one. It's an inconvenience to them. But they don't realize that making others wait is an inconvenience to them too.

Plus, crowded elevators are bad for me. (especially when others are taller than me)

There's something satisfying about it when someone barks "hold the door!" as tho they're making a reasonable request and expect that you're definitely going to, and then you just watch it close in their face.

Never tried it but I'm sure it feels good. Maybe I should. Lol

So you're anti-abortion

Interesting

Well I don't kill even ants or flies so definitely would try my best not to harm a fetus human.

But I don't necessarily care that much what other people do.

I care in the sense of I would judge them for it, but I'm not in the business of trying to stop them or losing sleep over it or asking the government to stop them.

So in a political sense maybe I'm pro choice, but then I have the choice to think what I want of you and associate accordingly.


Haha, ya it's funny how what they do is actually the selfish thing 😃

whereas letting the door close is pretty neutral but a lot of people would be horrified by the thought of it, lol

(but those same people would think it's fine to interrupt the crowded elevator)

I care in the sense of I would judge them for it, but I'm not in the business of trying to stop them or losing sleep over it or asking the government to stop them.

I get.

I'm undecided anyway. If I had to make a choice, it would be one a case-by-case basis

You're pro-awesome, that's what you are!

☺️☺️😍😍😍

😇🤗

you are toooo

Honest truth: I've only ever been inside an elevator once before all my life; and it was to make out with a girl. Thats shows you just how sparsely used they are here.

Only very very few buildings have them and even then only very very few people use them, so I wouldnt know how the hand blocking thing feels LOL. But ya I do understand how you feel.

Also I understand how people might be in such a hurry and have to do it, but then it's only right that they thank you or say sorry or whatever, as opposed to feeling entitled

Oooh abortion. Phew. Never would have considered the similarity between both scenarios LOL, but again apt comparison as usual!

Oh and F that uber driver who dropped you halfway. Ugggh!!!!!!

😱😱 was it worth it?? Did u makeout in the elevator or outside of it? 😱

Also I understand how people might be in such a hurry and have to do it, but then it's only right that they thank you or say sorry or whatever, as opposed to feeling entitled

Exactly!!! You're at such a high level. (I almost made a clarification to make this point, but didn't wanna get long winded..)

Ya, if you're in a rush, go for it. It's like you might cut someone off in traffic or even bump into people on the sidewalk if it's urgent enough.. and it's understandable and the thing you should do.. but the proper and polite thing is still not to cut people off

Similar.. I might well hold the door for someone.

Especially if there's eye contact and they seem good. Just, it's not my obligation. Like if you ask me to hold your hand while we cross the road, okay sure. I'm nice and happy to help. But you should recognize that it's a courtesy rather than the normal expectation or whatever.

So when I say I don't hold for people, mostly I mean I don't consider it my obligation to hold. And am happy to let it close but sometimes for whatever reasons I'll hold it.

The times I don't hold usually involve the entitled "hold the doooor!" with the hand in the air. Nah, bye.. lol

Hi Rassy 👋 👋

was it worth it?? Did u makeout in the elevator or outside of it?

Mind your business. 🤷 😂

I believe it had to happen inside

🤷🤷🤷

you could be right!

Perhaps we'll never know!!

Just curious, have you?

U know... Elevator make out

I'LL NEVER TELL 💯 🎉

Haha

My bad

A gentleman never tells

😆🙈

¯_(ツ)_/¯

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

🎁 Dear @full-measure,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to AMA on Discord

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

🎁 Dear @full-measure,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

It's super dangerous to stick your hands in and or try to pry them open. I use to work for service to facilities at my university and during my tenure at that job someone actually died because it took off with the doors open while the student was trying to climb out. I took hundreds of these calls, stay put if you get stuck in one and be patient, great advice from you.

OMG! That's terrifying lol. I didn't know it was also a safety concern, but ya, just no good reason to do it.

Thanks for the added insight!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69034.81
ETH 3815.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50