Autumn night dream. Working in thin layered oil technique

in #elegance5 years ago (edited)

Good day to all lovers of beauty!

With you again @yurche and today we will talk about oil painting. We will draw on canvas, using the technique of thin layered strokes.

Drawing this way I usually do not use any ready-made forms, except for those items that need to be transferred most accurately. I'll tell you a secret: I saw a pigeon butterfly on several different photos. Everything else in future picture is a fragments of my imagination.

For a start, I bought a canvas stretched on a wooden sub-frame. The size of the blank is 40x50 cm. it costs not so expensive, so any artist can not to spend time in his studio with ticks and nails, and buy a ready-made basis for his painting.

A little bit about the colors. I use paints in tubes (Petersburg), gum turpentine to dilute the paint and white spirit when I need to wash brushes.

Before I begin, I will breed all the colors in sunflower oil (linseed or fir varnish – optional). I do this because in different tubes the density of colors is significantly different from each other. I just bring them to a soft state (like sour cream), and after stirring spread separate "buns" on the glass.

Yes, I use a glass palette, as it is very convenient to clean it from dried residues of paints. Along the way, I mix different colors of the color I need. Whitewash spread separately, slightly to the side, because its consumption is usually much more than the other colors.

Since the canvas is already primed, I immediately apply a light sketch with a simple pencil. Then I start to make the main color spots. Here it is important to immediately identify those areas from which then there will appear more detailed shapes and objects. But while this is only vague images, and I just make sure that the color combination were appropriate and did not cut the eye.

While the paint is not frozen, it ireaches after the brush. Just at this initial stage, you can adjust the tone and make soft color transitions. I work with synthetic brushes, round and flute. Of course, the larger the brush, the faster you can make the background and big details on picture.

I carefully smooth the paint with a thin layer. So its consumption will be minimal, but we must ensure that the brush is not heavily soiled during smooth color docks, because we do not need dirt, but beautiful, gentle in tone transitions.

Even if after a day or two the layers of paints is frozen, you can continue to work, introducing additional color transitions in the composition. In the glazing technique, when the layers of paint strokes are minimal, we can easily introduce new color spots and elements, stretching their edges over hardened paint.

Unlike watercolors, there are absolutely no ugly places of joints and numb.

In the process of drawing I changed the location of the elements several times. Somewhere another color is added, some details of the picture increase or decrease. From time to time I go to a far distance, because in this case a possible flaws is clearly visible even in the initial stage of the picture.

When the large basic elements are ready, you can once again dry our semi-finished product or continue to draw immediately. By and large it is not so important. Oil paint is a very good and grateful material. It seemed to suggest when and how to do, perfectly superimposed by its layers, overlapping one paint with another.

Then I work with smaller brushes, because the most interesting thing begins - drawing the details of the composition.

At this stage, it seemed to me that I had darkened with the sky. I bring my picture to the desired state, adding pink and orange shades. The picture is almost ready, it remains only to add quite a bit of details.

The last thing I do is really thin brush curls draw the clouds, draw a girl and a flock of birds in the sky top left. So there are not now any compositional distortions and the picture looks completely finished, because the details are always an important thing in any work.

Here and then I just took a picture of the elements of the picture closer, so you can see everything in detail.

That's it! Thank you for listening. As soon as there is something new in my work, be sure to show you. Stay in touch and share your precious comments!

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Excellent work, @yurche! Amazing drawing! So beautiful and colourful!

Oh! Thank you, dear friend @trincowski! : )

This painting is wonderful, it looks so clean and so alive. You used colors so striking that they give life to the piece.
very good!

Gosh, I love the colours so much, @yurche ! It feels like I'm seeing through a dreamscape, where butterflies are almost as big as buildings !!! <3 What a magical art !!

Thank you, @veryspider! I drew this picture for a present to women who loves butterflies : )


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

This post is sponsored by Elegance - Art Community in collaboration with @appreciator and will be showcased in weekly Featured posts of @elegance. Just keep up the good work.


elegance.jpg

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
lgtnwcvjau.jpg

Wow! Thanks! : )

That is a heavy butterfly! :D This is such a beautiful colorful painting that makes you instantly feel better :) There is so much going on but the harmony is present there anyway. Beautiful!

Thank you! But I still think it wasn't a butterfly that knocked the building down. It was still bent before : )))

What a delight painting! It is like stepping into a fantasy world! I like seeing how you accomplished it Kama especially all the details that you added to make it complete. It is quite lovely.

Thank you very much for a comment, @melinda010100! : )

Hello @yurche, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95