Staring Into Infinity

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

To me, eyes are infinity pools of how we see the world. They are the direct messengers to our experiences and they convey to others some things that can’t be said. They are maps to our internal constitution and commonplace amongst all species. It is known in advertising that a set of engaging eyes will trump any graphic or type style advertisements, as there is a strong instant connection between the eyes on the ad and the one looking at it.

I tried my hand at an illustration of a detailed eye in purpose of practicing photorealism. This is my first attempt and as I was focusing quite intently on every line in both pressure and angle, I didn’t manage to get any progressive shots. I was too far gone in the process. This eye took a good hour to complete, I had to remind myself not to rush it as my usual style is more of a free flowing saturated spurt of anything goes.

Photorealism takes discipline and a deep understanding of physics, which is hugely appealing to me. I can appreciate the lose interpretation art can have, but the skill and patience it takes to pull off a real life replica is something entirely different.

I used an array of graded graphite Derwent pencils from F to 3B and black colour pencil right at the end in parts like the pupil and the lashes. It’s difficult to know where to stop and where to lay it on in order to create a natural contrast. I think I did OK here but I surely have a loooong way to go.

** Staring at stuff

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Love the tangled lashes. Is colour on the way or are you finished?
Is it brown? Looks like its brown.

Oh yeah it’s done, can’t put much more graphite on top of that iris. I’d love to do a colour version but I’ve got to save up for a sweet stack of these godly coloured pencils that make me drool every time I see them. The eye I was referencing was green and brown.

I don't imagine color has much impact on shape, maybe shading?
I could imagine it brown or green but it just didn't look blue.

Good definition. Deft pencilling. Reflection and texture of the pupil are superb.

Thank you :) I see is a spot in the reflection that looks like it throws the shape of the iris off, it does annoy me slightly haha

Wow I think you did a really good job! It’s beautiful 🦋🌈💛🌴🍀

Woo thank you :D Still need a lot of practice

Hi @stuffing!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.612 which ranks you at #14368 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 14359).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 236 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @stuffing! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Lovely drawing of the eye, @stuffing !! Your lines are delicate but well defined <3 Very nice~

Very kind, thank you. I tried to go lightly and layer rather than drawing the lines in, if you know what I mean...


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87