My ArtVenture: Pastel painting “Michel aus Lönneberga”

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

Last couple of days I was working of creation of a portrait with pastel, I have done already few in the past but as you may be aware was never happy with the results.

The subject came quite spontaneously, recently I learnt a Steemian, her name is @ultraseven, she is from Tokyo, Japan, her blogs about her daily routine and being a mum of two little children she posts about them. Her last post was about her 5 year old son who as many other children in this age is very curious and keen to learn new things but of course want to do it right now.

This reminded me on Michel aus Lönneberga (or in swedish Emil I Lönneberga) from story book with the same name that was and still is very popular children book in Germany written by Astrid Lindgren, who is known due to her character Pippi Longstocking. I think when we read the stories of Michel then we just recognize ourselves in him therefore, I decided to portrait that little curious boy, who is the whole day outside looking for adventures.

Pastel painting “Michael aus Lönneberga” by @Stef1

a1DSC02129.JPG

This time I decided to do a large format so that I could work on details of face, I took my Mi-Teintes pastel paper but once I already started I regret that I did not use the back side of that paper that is smooth, the front one has honey comb pattern which is good for some works but for portrait probably not the best.

OK, that is lesson for me for the next time! We all learn on our experience.


My step-by-step process and materials:

Mi-Teintes pastel paper 32x41 cm, weight 160m/cm2, soft pastel sticks and pencils.

This is first sketch and started as always with eyes, I am very skeptic at this stage:

DSC02123.JPG

Trenner groß.png

That looks OK, but it is only 1/4th of the whole work, at this stage I think why I decided to do such complicated thing:

DSC02124.JPG

Trenner groß.png

Two eyes and nose, that is the most important details of face, I am satisfied but still long way to go and now with started creating a face, my portrait looks like a boy with a beard :)

DSC02127.JPG

Trenner groß.png

You can't imagine how happy I am on this stage seeing my finished portrait of Michel, I loved working on his hair, because there is no real rule how to do hair they change their position and color depending on wind and reflection of sun, so that was the most enjoyable and easy part. My tools are also included in my last photo they played one of the main role in creation of portrait too. Of course, my signature and the date, if you can see I finished it today 18thof June 2018

DSC02129.JPG

Trenner groß.png



test1.jpg

scot1a.jpg

DSC01062.jpg


I hope you enjoyed my post, thank you for viewing :-)

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Wow. Thank you @stef1. I am very glad to read this post.
I knew Pippi and I often watched the movie when I was a little child. But I did not know Michel. His curious eyes are very impressive. Also the cheek looks like my son's cheek!!

Thank you @ultraseven for your nice words about my work and I am glad that there are many different things people in the whole world have in common.

how expressive the portrait is. You captured the wondrous curiosity and lust for innocent adventure that children possess intrinsically. The details are so realistic. Amazing work , @stef1 :)

Thank you, that was really a long lasting work, I thought to do realistic portrait and this is something I am going to develop :)

You must. You have a talent for it , @stef1 :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57237.65
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34