Peonies. Oil diptych. Part two

in #elegance5 years ago

Hello, Steemit!)

In a previous post, I wrote about my idea to decorate the walls of the kitchen with an oil diptych.
https://steemit.com/elegance/@kleonella/peonies-oil-diptych-part-one
Today I will show how I painted the second picture of the diptych. For the picture I used oil paints, canvas primed on cardboard of 50 * 70 cm in size, brushes synthetics and bristles, varnish.




First, I drew the contours of the drawing with a pencil.



I started to paint from the background. To make the flowers look contrasting, I chose a dark emerald color for the background. Superimposed on the canvas paint tight enough.



Passed to the formation of petals. Began with small peons at the bottom edge of the picture. These flowers are a continuation of the first picture of the diptych. Applied on the petals forming transparent lines of blue and dark purple colors.



Then moved to the central flowers of the picture. In the same way I drew the shaping shadow lines of blue and violet colors. On the petals added red translucent reflexes. In strokes I tried to show the shape and curves of the petals, drawing their veins.



I painted over all the other colors of the picture. I painted green leaves with grass green and yellow oil paints. The edges of the petals I emphasized zinc white, mixed with cobalt and light yellow.


When the picture dried out well, I turned into a glaze with tinted dammar varnish. Mixed varnish with dark blue paint and with transparent strokes put shadows on the petals. It also translucently applied to the petals green reflexes from the leaves and the emerald background of the picture. I emphasized the most lighted areas of the petals with white, slightly shading the strokes, thus showing the smoothness of the petals.


Finally, my picture is ready. The second part of the diptych turned out to be a bit darker than the first, so now I have the task to combine two images into a single color and compositional whole.








Thank you for attention!

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Gorgeous peonies, your painting technique always amazes me :) I have included it in my weekly curation Ocean of Art!

Thank you very much for your support!)

Amazing petails!

I love the first one and I love this one very much also... The colours are so rich and beautiful and each petal is done so nicely !!!! Love the colour contrast between the blue flowers and the green background, as well <3

Thank you very much!)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations @kleonella! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 8000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 9000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This must feel so rewarding when you have your art hanging on the walls of your home and your visitors are absolutely amazed by your work. Those peonies are beautiful! The form and the color of the flower is spot on! Thank you for sharing!

Thank you very much for your support

🎉 Congratulations @kleonella! 👏, your amazing Artwork has been selected to be featured in my curation post.
image

Thank you very much for your support

Hello @kleonella, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Beautiful work! I love what you did with the varnish! So smart!

thank you very much)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65402.71
ETH 3383.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.60