JACK SKELINGTON CLAY FIGURE

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

20181117_103345.jpg
Goodmorning everyone! I know it has been a little while but I have something I want to show you guys!

My grandmother had asked me to make a figuring of Jack Skelington from the movie the Nightmare before Christmas. She has a friend that really likes Jack so she wanted to give it to her friend.

20181117_103410.jpg
It had been a while since I had done anything with clay and I was super excited to get back into it.

This figure took me about 1 and a half days to complete

And here is my process!
20181117_103654.jpg
First I sketched out the pose that I was going to give this character.

20181117_103709.jpg
Then I took some wire and made the skeleton to give me a base to work off of.

20181117_103637.jpg
Next I took some aluminum foil and wrapped it around the skeleton. The foil helps give me a bigger and sturdier base to build on. I've seen a lot of artists use foil to make bases and fill space so you don't have to use tons of clay and it is super effective.

20181117_103624.jpg
Then it was time to cover the base with clay!

20181117_103600.jpg

20181117_103536.jpg
After making the entire body I started adding the white parts of the outfit. Jack wears a striped suit.

20181117_103520.jpg
I then added the arms on

20181117_103455.jpg
And I started adding the stripes on with thin pieces of white clay. I wanted to use clay instead of painting it because I've found painting on the clay to be harder, at least for me.

20181117_103345.jpg
After finishing the stripes I made the face and the hands and i was done!

I hope that you enjoy!

View post on Elegance

elegance.jpg
A place to show your skills

Sort:  

Wow! You've done a great job @justaboutart! It's so amazing. Maybe I should try it out :D

Thanks! Yeah clay is really fun and you can make some pretty cool things!

This is awesome! I love all the steps that you've shown us. I found you on @pinoy's post of excellent blogs.

Thank you so much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by djynn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Oh I love him so much. Hello Jack. My son @thingone wanted to be Jack for Halloween this year. We homemade outfits, here is the young Jack and @thingtwo as Zero the ghost dog :) My wife @dillemma as a deep sea anglerfish of course

Thank you! And that is too cute, I love all of their costumes!

It looks exactly like Jack! I bet she will be thrilled with it.

Thank you! I hope she likes it!

I love this very much, @Justaboutart :D You really capture good ol' Jack and the step by step is presented super well <3 Gorgeous art <3 <3 <3

Thank you so much!!! That means a lot coming from you!

How cool is that! I love how you showed the process which makes me enjoy the final outcome even more. Great job! Sorry I didn't get here in time to give you and upvote. : ( Next time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62922.70
ETH 2543.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83