Trying out The Pentel Brush Pen

in #elegance6 years ago

thumb.png

Just received this beautiful brush pen I had ordered. Finally getting back into more traditional drawing. Artwork on a tablet is nice but it lacks an organic feel to it. Also looks like I'm faster at drawing on paper...

XGFKP-Pentel-brush-pen.jpg

So this is my first attempt with this new pen. I'm trying out various techniques and textures. I had to start with my beloved webcomic character Lev. Always a good warm up...

Untitled.png

What's nice is the multiple line width it can perform. Going from one to the other smoothly. Here are a few exemples below.

IMG_20180821_030414.jpg

You'll also see the brush tip on the pen. That is actually used for asian calligraphy.
This was recommended by the great Mr Jake Parker on his website and in the following video.

I'll surely do some more of these.

See you on the other side,

Jrej

Sort:  

Yes I have the same pen and really enjoy drawing with it on paper. You have made a very nice first character sketch with yours!

Oh cool! Didn't know you were using the same one. Pretty efficient so far. I'll have to do over pencil for a more detailed piece.

wait a moment, first i have to congrats for the great paint you made; i know it is not the topic but it looks so cool xD
and great review of the pen :)

Hey thanks that was a quick doodle. Hope I can do a better one later on.

The pen looks nice to use... judging from the result of your try out anyway ;).

Do more :D.

Hehe this was just a first attempt. I'll definitely do some more. I see so many impressive artwork with that. I'm sure I can do better.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01