Marieana: Proposal At SunsetsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #elegance6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone. This is an in-progress piece. I want to finish it in something other than crayon. I figured it was at a point to show it, though.

I started off with a blue crayon to make a basic, light sketch. It ended up being Lee's mother, Marieana, but I didn't know it would be until I had started curling her hair. Maireana is the original owner of Lee's gorgeous ginger locks.

In this image, she's getting proposed to on the beach by Lee's father, Lucas. I want her to be smiling a little more about it, though, so I hope to fix that once I incorporate other mediums.

The beach is really simple... I think maybe 20 minutes of work... overall about 3 hours for the whole picture.

The Progression of Crayons

I thought this would be amusing. I wasn't even thinking about this as it was developing. I was just thinking... "Huh... I need a darker shade here... maybe this color will work?" Yeah, science.

That's all for now. Stay alive, everyone. The water is beautiful.


Creative Commons License
Find out what a Creative Commons License is.

Active Steemit Posts:

Writing: Personal Reflection: The Echo Lake Nature Preserve

Active WLS Posts:

Intro: "Oh no, not this again." | Art: "Please Rain Somewhere Else." | Contest Submissions: We-Talent Round #3

Facebook  •  Twitter  •  Medium  •  Tumblr  •  Patreon  •  Personal Site


Posted through Elegance.

Sort:  

I think this is just fabulous! I love the detail, and the way your character has a background.

As such I've included your post for this week's Pay it Forward Curation Contest. I've also upvoted and resteemed this post. Keep up the great work!

Thanks. I'll certainly try. I don't tend to post everyday (I like formatting too much). ^_^;

Have you tried using Steempeak (separate website that ties in with Steemit.)
It will allow you to create templates... This way, you can get your formatting done the way you like it and keep it ready for your next post! That's how my book posts are so consistent. The other way is to click on "edit" and copy the part that needs to be the same from one post to the next, paste it into your next post. That's what I do with Whaleshares and WeKu.

I've been using the Steempeak frontend for a least two months now (and it's where I keep my templates). Like I said, though I like formatting too much, despite the templates. ^_^;

hahaha. Yeah, I keep playing with it too. I need to take an hour or whatever, and fix my tables. Steemit, etc, is doing something weird to them - hiding 30-40% of the width... but it's there, just not visible. So, I'm going to have to play with it a bit and see what I can do.

This is a beautiful drawing, such a soft style! I have dropped by to support you as you were featured for the @pifc by @viking-ventures.

Thanks so much, @bengy. You're always kind. ^_^

Loving the delicate pastel shades, from memory crayons are really hard to be precise with so I'm amazed how much detail you have in the face, hair and body - obviously a very delicate and skilled touch.

c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance #witness

Yeah, from what I remembered of crayons as a kid, I knew they wouldn't blend if I colored too hard... but I think the real saving grace is that these crayons were made 28 years ago, and have never been used. They were quite hard.

Hi anyaehrim!

I am (currently @eaudebla) a curator for AkibaSteem and this is just to let you know that I upvoted your post:

We're an anime-focused community full of fans and good people! We aim to find good anime & manga content, share a happy moment & give some visibility. You got our vote and your post may get featured in our compilation post, if you don't want to be featured please let us know. Keep up the great work!

Also, feel free to join our community on Discord!

https://discord.gg/7JQruwm

If I have to say something after seeing that logo, it would be

Sasageyo

Your drawing is amazing. I liked it a lot.

:-D I'm glad you like it so far. It's so light, though, so it doesn't quite feel like a sunset picture right now, but I was actually uncomfortable adding light and shadow with crayon (since you can't truly erase analog shading mistakes with wax-based mediums). I think I'll end up doing it digitally.

All right, it's great anyway. n.n

Beautiful drawing! Well done!

PS: @viking-ventures featured this post on Pay it Forward Contest

I saw that (wasn't expecting it, either)! I'm bestowing @viking-ventures Marieana's luck in the PIF contest. :-)

This post is sponsored by Elegance - Art Community in collaboration with @appreciator and will be showcased in weekly Featured posts of @elegance. Just keep up the good work.


elegance.jpg

Will do. ❤️

Nice work @anyaehrim! Dropping by to support your post after @viking-ventures entry of it into our weekly PIFC contest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Seems all the attention came from her. :-D I'm very thankful for it.

Yes, @anyaehrim, ...

"Seems all the attention came from her."

That is intentional, as the @pifc community attempts to "shine the light" on the undervalued work of others (rather than ourselves), as there is a lot of great content going largely unnoticed ...

If you see any value in that, we'd welcome you "joining the cause!" 😊👍

Posted using Partiko Android

The You-Got-Snekked community does that, too, and I have my hands full over there already with finding content and keeping the Discord server active. Thanks for the offer, though. :-)

Excellent anyaehrim. As long as you are part of a community somewhere, that's the key ... 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

We don't seem to bump into each other a lot. I'm part of five communities right now. :-|
We must be from opposite sides of the Steemit map.

Very nicely done. I like the way you incorporated unique colors. She has a happy, reserved look. As of now, I think it fits, but you know you're envisioning.

As you may know @viking-ventures featured you in this week's @pifc Pay It Forward Contest.

Yes, I appreciate @viking-ventures so much for that, and I wish her luck in the 31st contest, too. She picks amazing posts. 😄

I have a couple other things to do before I get started on touching this piece up. Hopefully they don't distract me too much because I'm eager to continue this piece. 😅 We'll see...

Hello @anyaehrim, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56