[Roofs of the world: watercolor, pastel, markers] Part 1

in #elegance6 years ago


So I began my course on drawing the roofs of different cities in the world. The course is constructed in such a way that simultaneously lessons are given in three directions and on the same topic. I decided that I will sum up the method of comparing different techniques within a single topic. I will paint with watercolor, pastel and markers.
The very first lesson on the course the teachers explained what materials can be drawn and what to look for when purchasing them. Since the advice is very vague and depends also on the student's preferences, I'll just talk about the materials that I will use.

Markers. I have a palette of markers from manufacturers like Copic, Touch, Graphit and Stylefile. The palette is limited and looks like this:

I will use the Canson XL marker paper for exercises, and draw on Lana Esquisse or in a sketchbook from Tsusketch (I do not know which marker paper they use).

Watercolor. I use the watercolor "Nevskaya Palitra" in cuvettes, I have a set of 36 colors and there are some shades of watercolor Van Gogh. The teacher did not say what colors we would need, but she promised that a standard palette of 24 colors would be enough. So I'm not worried about this. The teacher advised to use cotton paper Arche or Moulin du Roy. I have one and the other. But for standard arts for fill and gradient, I will use paper from cellulose (it is much cheaper!).

Pastel. Teacher recommends buying chalks Shminke or Rembrandt. As a last resort, Kohinor. But I will use the Podolsk pastel and crayons of MUNGYO. I will draw on paper Canson Mi-teintes, craft paper or Palazzo.

The first exercise in the course is the fill and gradient. With watercolor everything is clear and there were almost no problems (there are little perks, but this is due to the fact that in time did not remove the paint tape, which was wet when applying watercolor). In general, I am satisfied with the result.


I paint with markers clouds. Three species in an amount of not less than 5 pieces, so I decided to make 2 pieces each: a cloud of contrast, a cloud of ordinary and feather clouds. The meaning of the exercise is stretching and gradient from dark to light and back. Simply, the presentation of the material goes directly to the example of clouds. I think this is a very convenient move)))

Pastel caused difficulties almost immediately. Finding the palette for the video was very difficult, and I'm not completely sure that I picked it right. It was necessary to practice shading the sky from light to dark and back again.

It turns out that the main cunning of pastels is that you first need to apply an average tone, and then shade light and dark shades to it. For me it was unexpected.
There are several rules in pastels:

  1. If stretching is used, it should be perfectly smooth and uniform.
  2. If a gradient is used without shading (for texture sake) - the chalks should be selected very qualitatively and should not be oiled.
  3. Work always comes from the middle tones. Mixing chalks is only with the neighboring color.

And here are the first works. It was necessary to make one sky with a banner, and the second without it. Crayons are used the same.

Conclusion. The methods and techniques of working with materials differ, but basically everything works the same way: you have to mix several shades and make a gradient. Markers are mixed on paper, pastel is also on paper, and watercolor is on a palette (multicolored gradients also interfere in the palette, but are introduced gradually onto paper, through the addition of water and pigment). Each material is good in its own way, so I continue to work on the course and learn something new.


All my paintings can be bought for sbd/steem


Thank you for watching!



Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189


Order now!

P.S. It is hard to write in English, because my native language is Russian. But I'm learning. If you notice serious errors in the text that interfere with the correct perception, please let me know about them.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78