BeeCharged

in #electronics6 years ago

Hello again fellow Steemians, I am back after a long break.

I am excited to present you my latest project, a modular platform for energy storage. Below I will present the first step and the foundation stone in this project. I also want to mention that this will be an Open Source project. The PCB, mechanical files and code will be available for free, once I get everything cleaned up and test the prototype. I plan on launching an IndieGoGo campain when I finish the design, to fund the first batch, but there is

I have been working on refining the specifications and creating a draft mechanical concept. Below is a concept design. There is still much work to be done on mechanical side, but I got too excited and decided to share with you guys and get some feedback. The USB and 2 power ports will be on the black Ribbon, 2USB and a power connector on each side.

With the mechanical design on halt, I focused on designing the PCB. The design is finished and sent for manufacturing. Now I am waiting for the PCB to come and then I can solder the components and start testing it(hopefuly I get the software done until then). Now I will give some specs of this module:

BeeCharged 02k
-24 18650 Li-Ion cells(8s3p) for a total capacity of 200Wh
-4 USB charging ports (2.5A each)
-2 high power Ports(24V-33.6V/5A each), this ports are connected to internal battery
-1 charging port of 10A max
-all output and input currents are monitored
-every output and the charging port can be switched independently
-overcurrent, shortcircuit, undervoltage protection
-integrated cell balancing(cell voltage can be set)
-access to internal I2C bus provided(method not specified yet)
-access to CAN bus provided via a 2 pin connector on the bottom

With this being said(hope I mentioned everything), I will showcase few potential uses and explain why I call this a platform.

This module is the first prototype and it was designed as an external battery that can charge phones, tablets and other gadgets via USB. Besides that, it van also charge laptops and other more demanding electronics via the 2 power connectors. The 2 connectors can deliver more than 120W each, making them suitable even for a small UPS. The 5A limit is software set due to thermal consideration, but pulses of up to 10A can be allowed in a later update.

The CAN bus connection will allow this modules to be connected in series or parallel with others to increase the stored capacity and/or output power. Besides this, I am planing on designing also an invertor module and solar charging manager for this environment. Everything will be designed as a modular plug and play solution for electricity storage, for your home, car or pocket.

Let me know what you think about this. Any question or idea is welcomed.

Sort:  

Congratulations @pulssar! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49