Electroneum Mobile Miner

in #electroneum6 years ago

I recently setup the Electroneum mobile miner on my phone. I didn't know a lot about it, but it seems like a pretty neat little app, so I thought it was worth a write-up. Electroneum is a crypto, and currently holds the 104th position in terms of market cap. The thing that makes this crypto interesting to me is that you can mine it using your Android or iOS device. The iOS app just came out, but the Android one has been out since March.

You download the app from the app store just like you would any other app. The install was simple, but setting up my account took some doing. I tried doing everything from my phone, but for some reason I couldn't get it to email me a confirmation link in the app. It only worked when I went to electroneum.com and signed up for an account there. After clicking the link in my email to confirm, I was able to log into the app using this user name and password. Once in the app, you need to set up a pin, as well as a pin recovery email. However, this email cannot be the same email that you used to sign up for the account. So it would appear that you need two email addresses to use this mobile miner. The setup involved a lot of steps, but the app did a pretty good job of guiding you through it.

Once everything is set up, you're ready to start mining. This is the main mining screen. It shows your hash rate, the amount of ETN you've mined that hasn't yet been transferred to your wallet, and the number of people currently mining Electroneum.

Screenshot_20180712-202343~2.png

You can see your ETN balance on the wallet screen. There's not a lot to it, it basically just shows your balance, as well as buttons for sending and receiving ETN.

Screenshot_20180712-203321~2.png

Sending and receiving from the app looks very straightforward. You just scan or type in the appropriate wallet address to send to...

Screenshot_20180712-204503~2.png

...or to receive, you grab your wallet address via the convenient copy link, or drop your QR code on someone and they can scan it.

Screenshot_20180712-204453~2.png

So basically, that's it. You keep the app running on your mobile device and it churns away, earning you ETN. When you hit some threshold (for me it appears to be 10, but I've seen different number in different places around the internet) of ETN mined, it gets transferred to your wallet. I've been running this for about 3 days now and netted roughly 11 ETN. You certainly won't get rich at current prices, but it's crypto, so who knows what the future holds.

Whether Electroneum gains mass adoption remains to be seen, but it certainly seems like they've taken some right steps to gain traction with non-technical folks. The app has a clean, simple interface that's easy to use. Having a scanner built in is also a huge plus, so you don't have to type in those massive addresses. Also, the app has not appeared to use much data or battery in the 3 days I've been running it.

They also have a referral program, so if you get people to sign up, you both get a bit of a boost in your earnings. I'm not sure exactly how much, but if you decide to give it a go, consider using my referral code (below), so we can find out together.

Screenshot_20180712-204629~2.png

Since I've been through this process successfully, I'd be happy to try to help with any questions you may have about setting it up.

Sort:  

Electroneum is a sleeping giant i guess.
thanks for this informative content you have shared.
visit my profile and read informative post towards cryptocurrency
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@shoaibsajid/how-and-where-is-it-best-to-store-bitcoins-for-a-long-time

I guess we'll see what it does in the future. I think it's got potential for sure.

you have just started mining but i have already mined 625 ETN on my mobile miner ... good luck

Glad it's been successful for you. Toss me your referral code and I'll enter it. You're the reason I installed it, so it only seems fair.

haha, it's fair because you believe on this, Nobody does anything to say anything, it is a self-thinking that forces him to do.
bytheway my refferel code is - C5CC7A.
I HOPE you will also win this opportunity & grab many ETN coins...

That's interesting. I didn't think the technology in a phone was good enough for mining.

It's not doing actual mining like normal PoW. This just monitors for spare CPU cycles and credits you for the mining you could have done. It's a much less wasteful method of distribution with a lower barrier to entry for the average person.

Congratulations @methus! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Home stretch to the finals. Do not miss them!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

D468FB
🤘🤘🤘 REFERENCE CODE🤘🤘🤘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99