I Just Became An Electroneum Miner Today...With My Smartphone

in #electroneum6 years ago

This morning I read @nateonsteemit's post about earning crypto on the dip and I decided to try one of his suggestions of earning cryptos. Since I already have some SBI shares thanks to @cicbar I skipped Nate's steembasicincome first recommendation and I chose to try mining some Electroneum using my smartphone.

I installed the app from Google Play Store, created and account and hopped in the train of Electroneum smartphone miners as quick as you can imagine. After about seven hours of "hard work" I managed to mine 1.25 coins, as you can see in the picture, BUT according to the app it's not actual mining what I'm doing and I it's rather a giveaway for being part of the Electronemum community and a way of advertising for them.

Untitled.png

What the app did actually was benchmarking my smartphone, gave it a hash rate that will correspond with what a desktop miner would have, using my smartphones resources, and then the app allocates me the amount of Electroneum( ETN) that I would receive if I would actually mine a block with a desktop miner. So, basically it is giving me free coins without setting my phone on fire as it would probably happen if it would actually mine...

Taking a look at coinmarketcap, one ETN coin is valued at the moment of writing at $0.012256 so I haven't got rich in one day as a crypto miner, but I sure like the idea a lot. I love the feeling of collecting coins and being part of the blockchain environment and I love doing that everyday in every possible way.
Many times in my previous posts I was mumbling about the idea of earning cryptocurrencies in our everyday lives from almost everything and trusting in it with all my heart and logic and here I am with my first mining tools: Steemit and the android Electroneum app.

How long will I mine ETN on my smartphone I really don't know, as I am testing it for a few weeks to see how it affects the phones battery, but it feels good to know that every day I stack some coins in my ETN wallet. Even if they're just 1 cent right now I'm fine with it. Bitcoin was also valued at a few cents in its early times and look at it right now.

If you own an android smartphone and are interested in mining some coins with it download the app from Play Store make yourself an account and give it a try. If you have any questions about how it works or why is it not working just ask me or Nate. One of us will ultimately answer :)

Thanks for your attention,
Ace

Sort:  

I have been mining since the beginning. Not a lot of money... But it could be.
Screenshot_2018-06-21-12-46-39.png

Don't forget to give people your code... You can earn if they put it in... Find where it says earn free coins.
Screenshot_2018-06-21-12-50-00.png

One question: how is the battery life after using the app on a long period of time?

I don't really see a difference... I think it drains the battery a little bit because it is an app always running in the background, but it doesn't actually do anything, so I don't see a big difference. I am a really heavy phone user though, so I always have to charge my phone in the middle of the day.

Yes, it's an idea, esp .if the price were to climb one day. However, it's really designed for other countries where 1 dollar can be a big deal. I'm not sure it's worth it much in the west. But as usual need to check up on the company and roadmap, see if this crypto is going to sink or swim...

Its a good coin and have a good future soo i am a also in with this project @acesontop keep working for this project because it has a good future

Great 👍🏻! It is taking ages to be available via IOS/ Apple 🍎

I don't know. Never owned apple products and don't know if I will ever own one. Android seems better for me now.

I heard rumors couple weeks ago that apple app was just around the corner. May actually already exist, but the android one was first to come out by a long shot.

To be honest, doing "proof-of-work" on a cellphone sounds a bit pointless; if a significant amount of hash-power comes from mobile phones and embedded devices, a 51%-attack should be trivial to pull off. Besides, I believe there is no future in PoW in general.

image

Screenshot from the app. As I said in the post the app doesn't mine anything. It's just free coins...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65