When a Shake is a Work of Art | Frisco's Car Hop Diner City of IndustrysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #egos7 years ago (edited)

Walking into the establishment known as Frisco's one is greeted with decor reminiscent of the 1950's.

It's Americana all the way from brightly upholstered booths to chopped "Cadillacs" with lit up headlights to wait staff in short skirts on roller skates serving dinner tables as if it's an indoor carhop.

Now that I've been playing deep into Fallout 4, a game franchise long my favorite on PC, I couldn't help but note the colors as familiar to the art direction the series has taken only without the grunge of post-apocalyptic decay. Not to mention a smattering of hits from the 40's and 50's coming from the restaurant's overhead speakers.


I've eaten burgers from this establishment many times.

Even ordered a custom pizza at a time when it was on offer, but alas, no longer available. The food is always great for what it is: offerings from a "greasy spoon" diner but always a cut above the norm.


With yesterday's visit I decided to give a shake a try. Turns out they have quite a wide variety of flavors. Mint & Chip caught my eye. That flavor brings me back to getting cones at Thrifty drugstore with my family.

When it was served I wasn't prepared for the presentation.

Art! The drizzle of syrup inside the glass. The candy sprinkles which are this concoction's answer to a margarita's rock salt. The amazingly sculpted whipped cream finished with a cherry and cookie cone.

If presentation is 50% of how good something tastes this was already eye-delicious! Truth be told I had to turn this thing around for the photo opportunity as I had already spooned some whip and shake from the opposite side before my head began screaming "Pictures!"

For what it's worth it tasted as good as it looks. This was quite a compliment to the burger and fried zucchini which arrived at the table later.

Zounds! There be bolts of neon!

About the pictures.

These are actually the very first snaps with my new phone, the Google Pixel XL. Focus is fast and accurate. The close proximity of the subject provided a natural great looking bokeh. I'm anticipating this phone will make lovely portrait shots. The colors are accurate if perhaps a little over saturated. Detail is amazing. Very little grain in the decent but not extremely heavy lighting. Coming from an LG G4 which has an excellent camera I'm extremely impressed.

As I've mentioned in my unboxing video I'll put in a review of the phone and it's camera after I've used it as my daily driver for a while.

Photos were adjusted in Google Photos web app and cropped/reduced.


This is not my shot. It's from the official website. I'm disappointed I didn't snap the marquee on the way out as it appears there aren't decent close ups when you search on Google.

The Restaurant

is located on Gale Avenue in City of Industry, CA
They host regular classic car events and are open daily for family dining.

Friscos.com


This is a 100% power up post. Steem on!


I am,


The Everyday Geek on Steemit
EGOS.live

Sort:  

My mouth is watering! Well done and the phone did a nice bokeh as well.
(max aperture ) + Min distance to subject and maximum distance to background = max bokeh!
I followed you and nice work :)

Precisely. That close to a person for a portrait would give them the"Groucho Marx"look. Still might get decent bokeh against landscapes.

Where'd my rewards go? Ack!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63630.04
ETH 2656.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81