You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dyslexia and Dyscalculia 난독증

in #education6 years ago

I have been a tutor for almost 15 years now, and I have had experience with dyslexia, dyscalculia and dysgraphia. The ONLY thing we need to change when educating them is EVERYTHING :)

The normal educational system does not work here but implementing different approaches does, especially working with clay, and painting, using muscle memory of different body parts. I have found that a lot of my students do not have a severe problem now or are able to deal with them better. The first thing I taught them was "You do not have a brain disorder. Yes, I know it says so in all the medical books, but you do NOT have a brain disorder. You are just different and need different ways of learning. Educational system is outdated and obsolete, it has a disorder :)"

Thank you for sharing this lovely and educational post. I hope it will help a lot of people 💚

Sort:  

The ONLY thing we need to change when educating them is EVERYTHING :)

You have just redefined the teaching profession. What a beautiful comment @zen-art. The class sizes are so big. I wish they had just two hours a day of one one one or small group. Don't get me started on the system. It looks like you know that story as well as I do.

I love your first lesson:

"You do not have a brain disorder. Yes, I know it says so in all the medical books, but you do NOT have a brain disorder. You are just different and need different ways of learning. Educational system is outdated and obsolete, it has a disorder :)"

This reminds me a lot of what Edison's mother is quoted as having said. I'm not sure if she said it but I'm sure you said this and to someone that really matters.

Your comment is so encouraging. I'm happy to be here:)

I really like this post of yours:
https://steemit.com/happinesscontest/@zen-art/happiness-contest-01-is-starting-win-free-sbd-just-by-being-happy

If I may echo @mineopoly's reply to your comment @zen-art - that's the way to go!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58169.95
ETH 3145.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38