Steem Poker League Educates : Doyle Brunson, baby!

in #education7 years ago

I began this post by googling ‘Doyle Brunson history’ and was first rewarded with the Wikipedia article. I then re-googled, hoping to find another source and was met with the realization that if you are going to look into the history and life of the arguable most influential poker player in the world, you will be hard pressed to separate the man from the game he is so well known for; Texas Hold’em.

220px-Doyle_Brunson.jpg


Pre Poker

Baby Doyle was born in Longworth Texas as one of three siblings. He was a total baskeball stud, with the Minneapolis Lakers (Did you know the Lakers came from Minneapolis, friends? That’s right! ‘Lakers’. There are no lakes in Los Angeles! Ha!) showing interest before Doyle suffered a knee injury..

man-569099__340.jpg


Poker!

Doyle and friends started by playing illegal poker in the streets of Fort Worth, Texas, not far from our friend Benny Binion over in Dallas! Poker was considered gambling back then, and gambling was illegal, so these games were run by gangsters and other nefarious types. Doyle has said that he had guns pulled on him and all the other ‘fun stuff’ that came with the territory in those days, in those places, playing those kinds of games.

chicago-2026097__340.png


WSOP and Beyond!

As I noted in my previous articles about the history of poker and Benny Binion, the founder of the World Series of Poker, Doyle Brunson played in the very first WSOP Tournament in 1970. He has won 10 WSOP bracelets, tying for 2nd as most bracelets won behind Phil Helmuth. He also wrote what many people call the definitive book on poker strategy, Super/System, complaining that doing so probably cost him thousands of dollars by doing so.

51ghIa4gSaL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg


Just a little taste about this facinating man. I hope you check out more about him, even read his books! Also, let me know if there is another poker player/history situation you’d like to see an article about, I’m not tryna bore y’all to death!

xo!

b.

Just Beth.jpg

Sort:  

Great post, EXCEPT there are plenty of lakes in Los Angeles. For fishing or swimming and we have the Pacific Ocean, the biggest lake of them all, so there's that.

Fantastic Photos, the clarity is amazing! Very nice post here, Thanks.

i think one winning WSOP final hand was 2 7 offsuit

I love Doyle! I learned everything I need to know about poker from that man.

I've even been able to apply that knowledge to different areas of my life, including Steemit.

Poker is such a beautifully simple yet endlessly complicated game. Doyle Brunson is a genius. :)

It's simply the best, brother.
Poker is a game that changes the way people think, allows us to evolve and expand our mental capacity, only poker lovers will understand this.

How has no one said it yet?

RIP DOYLE

He's actually not dead. Just doesn't play anymore. He's 84 :)
Good news, eh?

Here is his Twitter account. :)

Haha sorry, it's a dumb meme. People used to spam RIP Doyle on poker sites and 2+2 a bunch to make people think Doyle had just died and go google whether it was true.

I definitely fell for it... Couldn't actually remember if he had died, had to Google it.
:D

Great, old man playing poker
I like it

The one thing lucksacks is missing, people drawing guns on each other.

Very informative post regarding the legend, I didn't know THE Lakers came from Minneapolis. That's additional knowledge, lol.

Over all that's the great post ..
I realize it is so valuable post .
Best of luck ..Carry on your own way..👍👍

I liked your posts very much. I request to you kindly when you are free then visit my blog.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63696.24
ETH 2486.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69