The Need for an Education Revolution

in #education7 years ago

download.jpg

As with most transcendent solutions throughout history, first, a fundamental question is asked. Here that question is: what if students didn’t have to go to school? I do not propose that kids fail to become educated, but instead I am questioning whether it is necessary and beneficial for them to attend a State appointed campus in an obligatory manner throughout their childhood. In many parts of the world, public education is forced upon families, and here in the U.S that is the case in many states (some states, but not all, do allow for the exemption of homeschooling). It has been that way in the United States since the mid-19th Century, during which the power of The State has predictably grown. It seems like our system of compulsory education is taken for granted and it has become politically without reproach; this is usually a good indicator of a failed and corrupt system.

The most glaring flaw of a compulsory education system is its disregard for individual freedom. Throughout history, The State has forced its citizenry into many self-serving objectives; many were characterized as altruistic and benevolent aims and necessary for the common good. They became part of the societal structure and woven so deeply and tightly into our everyday lives that it has become hard to fathom our society without them, taxes being the most blatant usurpation. Up until just a few decades ago, The State had the power to draft young men into the Armed Forces without their consent, and had the potential to punish those that attempted to dodge this process. This was viewed by many as an encroachment of individual liberty, but was deemed a patriotic necessity by those very people who had the power to send these young men off to fight; and for the betterment of whom? Mankind? Democracy? Perhaps, this argument can be made in a few cases throughout history but what of the other examples? There are some explicit examples of war being used for profiteering. Compulsory education too, gives The State the power to punish. It is another example of a form of coerced action, which has been marketed as necessary for the common good.

Blessed_are_the_Peacemakers.gif

It is undeniable that technology has transformed and improved the lives of many people around the world. Technology has changed our modern society in almost every conceivable way, from how we communicate, to how we navigate and travel, to how we gain income and the currency with which we are paid. These transformations have occurred at blazing speed, and in many cases, without the approval of the institutions that it has conquered. Technology does one thing earnestly: it advances. The one established organization where it has met some resistance is in our school system. Sure, many campuses now possess computers and iPads, but this is not a solution, instead are only used to supplement the curriculum. Also, the pace at which the education system has incorporated the latest technology is far less efficient than most other institutions.

A possible solution, then, is to sever the grasp of our obligatory education system and give the students the educational freedom they seek. They must possess the freedom to use technology, at their convenience and for their benefit. They must no longer be forced to attend campuses (in the same manner by which some colleges offer online courses/degrees). They must no longer be forced to take standardized tests. They can stay home one day and learn how to multiply fractions online (at their own pace and for however many days necessary), and they can meet up with a small group of friends the next day to read literature. The student will also have the freedom to allocate their time based on their interests; if they find science more interesting than math, then they will have the freedom to dedicate more time to this subject matter. Some may ask: but how will they track their progress? I would say, that life will inform them of their progress. Companies and corporations will provide tests for whatever position they have available. If the student passes the test, then he is regarded as competent for the position; if not, the student may seek out another position. This is the future of education and it is based on freedom instead of obligation.

I look forward to exploring more details in the near future.

Sort:  

Everything about the world has changed and revolutionized apart from education. Seems like it's about time to.

Yes, education is resistant to change and more so to alternatives based on freedom.

Hi @therussianmonk . I wrote a post about this a few weeks ago as well. Yours goes deeper than mine. I resteemed this in the hope that someone from @steemiteducation will spot it. ;)

Thank you for resteeming my post. It's an interesting topic and I enjoyed writing about it. Can you provide a link to your post so that I can read it?

Congratulations @therussianmonk! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Good post. You've seen my post on this, which your comment lead me here. I think you and I have some similar things rolling around in our minds here. Sure there will be differences, but personally I think that is great. :)

Your post was excellent. I am new to this site, but already I think I have found more like minded people here, then I have wandering around the world since birth. I'll be following your posts and hopefully we can have further discussions about life in the future.

I am sure we will. I am eclectic so some things I write about may not be of your particular interest, but I bounce around a lot. I do tend to post a lot of philosophic posts. Though I just tend to let my mind inspire me and tell me what I am interested in writing on any given day. :)

Steemit is the best internet community I've ever encountered. It will be up to us to keep it that way.

I find most things interesting that are thought out and even more-so if they are approached from a unique angle or point of view. I need to learn to let my mind be my guide, too. Thanks for the upvote by the way.

The article was good. Several of yours were. It can be hard to keep track of all of them. I do try to up vote articles I like though. I just miss so many of them.

Thanks. I enjoy writing and having the outlet. I haven't had time to read others that you've written yet, but I will soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63252.26
ETH 2662.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79