How I Attacked My Memorization Problem!

in #education6 years ago

english-1705196_1920.jpg

coffeseparator bigger.png

detective-1424831_1280.png

Like I mentioned in some of my posts, I’m really awful at memorization, I would say that it’s not in my DNA but my father has an amazing memory, he still remembers the names of the planes that were in the World War 2, and no, he is not that old, he read the names of the planes when he was 14! Meanwhile, I can’t remember what I had for lunch yesterday.

Coming to college and actually having to memorize a lot of information in a short period of time, cramming to be more specific, was really hard for me, I had absolutely no idea how I should “attack” this problem…

I “attacked” the problem by using the best tool humanity developed so far, the internet!

I spent hours upon hours searching around the internet for knowledge about this issue, and so I developed a strategy to attack the problem:

  • Visual and audition memory

Evaluating-learning-styles.png

Memory is a complex thing, just think about it, we have thousands, millions of neurons all firing up in a certain pattern that makes us remember stuff, how amazing is that! As you might know, we have different parts of the brain to process and memorize different content, we have the auditory cortex, the visual cortex, etc… if we want to better our memory skill we should use them all and interconnect them! What does that mean?
Not only will we read about the topic, we will also speak out loud to ourselves about the topic, we need to hear ourselves! So no more headphones! This will engage our auditory cortex! A good drawing or scheme about the subject is correspondingly a great thing to engage the visual cortex.
Also, our brain needs to pay 100% focus on the subject so no more music with lyrics! When you hear music with lyrics your brain spends a percentage of the brain power thinking about the lyrics, that reduces your focus and the ability to memorize new information!

  • Repetition

social-2084764_1920.jpg

Repetition is for memory like a workout is for muscle mass.
To learn a new subject, we need to repeat it over and over again. Each time we repeat something more of the information goes from our short-term memory to our long-term memory, and also it strengthens the preexisting memory.

  • Going over everything

When we think we have repeated the same information enough times and that we know everything, we take a break for a couple of minutes and after it, we try to remember everything, we speak to ourselves about it, in a sort of “teaching” ourselves way… This further strengthens the preexisting information and allows us to know what information we still don’t know!

  • Taking a break

woman-2197947_1920.jpg

Taking a break is very important, our brain is indeed powerful, but it needs a couple of minutes to rest every now and then, for that reason I take brakes every now and then.
This really depends on how good someone is at focusing, at the start I did 15min studying 15min break, right now I’m at 1hour studying 15min break, sometimes 2 hours studying 15min break.
Taking a break by sleeping is also important! This is when your brain rests and rewires itself the best! Not only that but any toxic material that was built up during the day from all the thinking is flushed from the brain. This prevents toxic accumulation which can lead to increase probability of Alzheimer’s disease and other diseases.
Working hard is important, but rest is just as important!

  • Food

health-healthy-food-salad-236379.jpg

Having healthy foods is also important for memory, how is the brain supposed to rewire and increase brainpower if we aren’t getting minerals and vitamins from out nutrition?
I normally eat healthy all year long, and, what I know that helps in memory are the following things: Fatty fish, vegetables, fruits, and nuts. I also include in my supplement stack the following things, especially when I’m studying: Fish oil/omega3, multivitamins, l-carnitine, and creatine.
To increase neurogenesis (the genesis of new brain cells) I also drink green-tea and use curcumin with black pepper.

  • Training

mark-589859_1920.jpg

Even when not studying we can train our brains to be better at gathering information and memorizing it, I’ve been reading some guides on “how memory champions train” and I think I’m going to do some of those in the summer, they say that only 30minutes a day is enough to have a long last effect on our memory!
Reading books instead of watching movies is also a great training to increase our brain power!

These are just some of the tips I’m using right now when I study! If anyone else has memory problems, try to do some of these and I’m sure it will be easier to study and it will get better with time!

Images are free source - 1, 2,3,4,5, 6,7, 8,9

coffeseparator bigger.png

Question of the day: What tips and tricks do you guys use to memorize information?

coffeseparator bigger.png
Get More and Higher Upvotes: Steemfollower
Convert your Bitcoin to EUR/USD : Coinbase
Buy all kinds of Cryptocurrency: Binance
coffeseparator bigger.png

Sort:  

Well, what I generally do to memorize anything is ............. I always make a pattern like thing.
Like if its a number: I will combination out of it and something like that. So, to some how I can remember the things.
Cheers

I see... that's a good tactic too!

Very useful article!! My memory sucks.. It always did.. Especially with numbers and telephones- I can only remember mine! I will try the above in order to improve it a bit :)

I know my cell phone number and 2 other numbers that i sometimes mix up, one is my home number and the other is the number from my childhood friend which i haven't talked to in years, i'm always afraid that i try to call home and i end up calling to my childhood friend's house :P
Thanks for reading!

hahahah same thing here!! :))

I hate memorization. I prefer reading then writing according to my understanding in my own words.
Your Dad is dope btw

He really is! Thanks for reading!

Interesting piece. I use the pomodoro approach to studying. I find my mind very busy at times. so i study for a while and then take a quick break inbetween. say 20 mins studies, 2 minutes rest. during the rest, i do stuff like eat junk or look outside from my balcony.

Also, when i'm done studying, one way i remember is trying to explain everything to myself in the most logical way that i can. I think this works for me pretty well.

I guess we do both do a sort of similar thing, i also explain to myself everything in the end, and i've extended the pomodoro approach to 1hour studying 15min rest, sometimes to 2 hours studying and 15 min rest, i like to keep the rest period to 15 min because that's usually the length of a family guy episode :P

Hahahaha! I see.
Well, i don't do so well with long study hours at a stretch. 20 mins is pretty okay.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95