DO BLONDES GET BETTER TREATMENT?

in #education7 years ago

Do Blondes Get Better Treatment?
This question has been on our minds since the dawn of man. As a blonde, i wasn't aware of the possibility that this might be true. Before i get into my research and experiment, i'm going to share a little bit about my life as a blonde. Just so you can get a better understanding. I've been a blonde since the ninth grade of high school. My classmates and friends at the time would repeatedly claim that i would “get away with anything” considering my blonde hair. At the time, i thought they were insane. “That’s so not true”, I’d say. My teachers in high school were always kind to me. I would always turn in late assignments and never get marked down. They were very understanding. I never put effort into my school work and projects, but i always managed to get A’s. i was oblivious to the reasoning behind this. I just assumed i was more intelligent and likable than everyone else. Silly me. When i didn't know an answer to a question, my teachers would always say “it’s okay. Good job honey”. I never really saw a problem with this until after high school. The way they've treated was actually more harmful than good. I've always been a good driver. I have never gotten pulled over, gotten a ticket, or been in an accident. (thankfully) However last week i had gotten pulled over for the first time. I was going 40 MPH in a 25 MPH zone. When the cop approached my window, he looked at me for a minute before he spoke. His expression softened and he asked if i knew why he had pulled me over. I played dumb and said “uumm no officer did i do something wrong?”. He then said “oh no honey but your license plate is missing a screw. Get that fixed for me” and winked at me. After a few more minutes he let me go without giving me a ticket. Wherever i went, i was the center of attention. I always felt “special”, like a celebrity. People would always approach me, compliment me, and ask what i was doing that night. Almost all of my friends are brunette. They would always complain about how i get treated better because i am blonde. So i thought maybe i should do a little research to determine if this was actually true. My first instinct was google. I googled a bunch of questions and got a lot of different opinions. Although, i did come across something interesting. “According to 10,878 Americans found that white women who said their natural hair color was blonde had an average IQ score within 3 points of brunettes and those with red or black hair” - new national study of young baby boomers. news.edu/news/2016/03/21/blond-intelligence/. So i thought, let me do a survey!

                        The survey:

I gathered a group of blonde and brunette female students for my survey. When asked, “how much time and effort do you put into school work and or projects?” eighty percent of the blonde females answered with “little to no effort”. Fifteen percent answered with “decent amount”, and the remaining five percent answered with “a lot”. When asked the same questions to the brunette females, i got different results. Ninety Five of the brunette females answered with “ all of my effort” and were confused that i had asked such a “weird” question. The remaining five percent responded with “decent amount”. I then asked the blonde females; “do you get treated differently or better than your classmates by your teacher?”. Seventy percent of the blondes responded with “yes. All of the time.” twenty percent answered with “ I don’t know”. The remaining ten percent answered with “ no”. When asking the same question to the brunette females, all one hundred percent responded with “ no”. I decided to end the survey with one more question. However this time i was determined to ask a group of male students. When asked “ do you prefer blondes or brunettes?” twenty percent of the males answered with “brunettes” ten percent of the males answered with “blondes”, and SEVENTY percent explained that they prefer “brunettes as girlfriends and wives” while they prefer “blondes as side chicks, booty calls, or one night stands”. I was baffled. When asked why? They responded with “brunettes are smart, humble, and have a personality.” “blondes are wild, shallow, slutty, or dumb”. Does the color of one’s hair really determine IQ or personal individuality? Hmmm… is this enough proof? NO! I thought. I need to investigate a bit more.

The Experiment:

I decided to do an experiment on my own. So i did what any “rational” person would do. I went out and bought a wig with brunette hair.

Day one:

I went out with some friends on a social occasion. We went to a dance club. With brown hair, nobody paid me any mind. I wasn't the center of attention. I was just like everyone else there. I didn’t feel “special” and i didn’t feel like a celebrity. Nobody approached me, nobody hit on me. It was definitely something i wasn't used to.

Day two:

I went to a bar and grill with outdoor seating next to my house. (I go there all of the time as a blonde) Like usual, I pulled out a cigarette and lit it up. However this time, a waiter approached me and lectured me about how there’s no smoking in this area. I was confused. It was the first time i heard of this rule. Hmm…

Day three:

I went to hang out with a group of friends. However this time, they were all talking about serious issues and having intellectual arguments and conversations. They even asked my thoughts and opinions.. Which they have never done before. They somehow saw me as an equal intellectual person. (which really got me thinking..) They treated me differently and actually realized i am quite knowledgeable. Does society actually judge women so abundantly based on their hair color? This was definitely an eye opening experience.

The Conclusion:

My life as a brunette.

What i experienced was different to say the least. I was Treated as an intellectual. People actually cared and were interested in my opinions and thoughts. When i went out on social occasions, I was held accountable for actions; such as smoking. I felt ignored and invisible by most. An ironic think did happen tho. My brunette friend and I were on our way to get some coffee when we got pulled over in her car. The cop was not as friendly as the one that pulled me over before ( when I was blonde). The cop ended up giving her a ticket. He held her accountable for her speeding and didn't accept her excuses. I mean i could go on and on. What I concluded from this experiment is that society will treat blondes “better”. I think this is wrong and potentially harmful but that’s just how it is in today's society. Its up to us to change society’s perception. After all, we are society. We are the ones to blame.
FullSizeRender.jpg
IMG_0501.JPG

Sort:  

Congratulations @svetlanafox! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61586.28
ETH 2569.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55