18-19 school year reflection

in #education5 years ago (edited)

Being the new kid sucks. Even as a new teacher. I knew it when I chose to switch schools- but the situation at my previous school couldn’t be salvaged. I’ve worked at two different schools previously, and at both, my first years were so rough. I cried multiple times, in front of people and alone. In comparison, this year was fairly smooth. I got a good rating from my administrator, I really enjoyed my students and got to teach what I wanted, how I wanted. Being new is isolating, and there were some missteps as I learned the logistics and social strata of a new school.

Some highlights from this year
-I received a jersey from a football player, because he said I made a difference in his life. There may have been some tears involved.
-one of my girls was a potential poet. Some of my favorite quotes from her:
“If love is an open door, then mine must be shut”
“You know how in life you go into a chrysalis and you're supposed to come out a butterfly? I'm coming out of the chrysalis a moth”
-one class was a constant source of wit and inside jokes:
#fishlives matter
“I roll over because I like belly rubs”

This year affirmed some of my beliefs about teaching-
-that for some kids without the motivation, you have to jumpstart it for them. It takes a lot of effort, and it doesn’t work with all kids. But one girl told me “you didn’t give up on me” and that’s how they all should feel.
-consistency is kindness. Teachers can still give consequences and care.

A good year, overall.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I feel you...Am not a teacher, I only remembered my new physics teacher in my high school days. I love the quote of your student, "If loveis an open door,mine must be shut"...I recommend this post for #up-gage by @zephalexia

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for this recommendation @jurich60

They are so lucky to have such a loving, thoughtful teacher like you 💜

You do the good work. Having student know you care about them is a remarkable thing for you and the student. Consistency is kindness and gift, for sure. Sounds too like you have found a fit:)

i have once dreamt to be a teacher. you may come out as moth as you say but you can be slowly successful in your own way 😉

Your post has been recommended by @jurich60 for my up-gage challenge

You really wouldn't be forgotten be that. You have made a difference in ones life and they appreciate it

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.285 which ranks you at #2513 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 5 places in the last three days (old rank 2508).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 319 contributions, your post is ranked at #135.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62647.38
ETH 3335.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46