The Answers To Questions That Weren't AskedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #education8 years ago (edited)

I often refer to public education as "conformity factories" where children go to learn how be people in the society they're being raised in.

When it comes taking tests we want to tell students to think out of the box. Though that may depend on what's being tested.

To be honest I was an awful student. I bet if my teachers back then heard I was teaching now they would probably not believe it. I wouldn't blame them. However, my step aunt who also teaches in public schools in Toronto, once said to me long ago that "naughty students make the best teachers". It seems rather unusual when you were the naughty student growing up despising the teachers every time you got caught throwing paper airplanes or smoking behind school.

(in the 90's smoking was still cool and if you wanted to know where the party on Saturday was you best be out there. LOL)

We all grow up though and look back on the days when those were our biggest troubles.

I remember my first year at U of Toronto. I went as a mature student when I was 25 years old. I didn't have the same registration as the kids coming right out of high school. I had to enter a one term program taking one course. If i got 62%-71% I would be admitted as a part time student the following term. If i did better than 71% I could go back as a full time student. If you failed you could try one more time. I happily managed to get a part time status. Another tale i tell you.

On the final exam I remember the prof telling us "If you're not sure of the answer go with your gut instinct the the first thing that comes to mind. Stick with it." Maybe you were told something similar.

So when I stumbled up this exam paper I actually found hilarious and thought provoking.

Of course when you're truly lost this could also be the right answer.... to a different question.

I would have given this kid an A+ without a doubt.

These are all good answers to the wrong questions. I often let my students ask me any questions for the last part of class. Sometimes they have nothing ask.
So I like to say "Ask me anything and I will give you an answer. I know everything." So they try to stump me.

They ask me things like "How many people are in the world?" and I reply "Too many"

That's my ramble for the day.

🙈 ❃ ➰

https://brightside.me/wonder-curiosities/how-to-answer-questions-on-an-exam-when-you-dont-know-anything-260560/
(Image Credit of Exam papers)

Check out @steemstem and find the right answers to things you never even knew to think about.


I hope you found this article interesting and unique..
100% SteemPower FTW!

任何时候来投票都行 我所有的票数是100% 倡导可持续发展的未来

Please see other posts of my Life in China 请参阅我在中国生活的其他邮件
https://steemit.com/cn/@solarguy/a-truly-haunted-place-i-discovered-in-the-hillside-of-dalian
https://steemit.com/life/@solarguy/dalian-china-summer-s-end-canadian-style-bbq-bbq

Sort:  

This is actually why I became an English major in college. I wanted to learn how to write, and as a form of teaching assessment, writing allows students creative expression. Tests do not. Tests just ask students to regurgitate facts. I don't know. Reading your post now makes me fond of writing instruction, but the years I spent in america teaching it were the most miserable in my life. And now, I live in a country with a highly repressive educational system and am happy as hell. Go figure.

haha. indeed weird eh

i too prob gave my teachers a more diff time than I should've lol
upvoted! nice post

trevligt inläg

Excellent post

Regarding the comment, thanks, I needed the +... /cry

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20