THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS VIDEO SERIES - EPISODE 60 - RING-NECKED SNAKE

in #education6 years ago

Wow! I can't believe that this is my 60th video in this series!


With a new year and the weather warming once again, new animals that have not yet been featured in this series are showing up. I had planned on sharing about this one last year, but wasn't able to locate this creature in time. Mostly, we find a lot of them in the spring, so now I've got my chance.

The cover photo, proof photo, and some others were taken during my accidental B&W camera setting episode, but I did get some color photos to help with identification and to show you what they really look like.

THE RINGNECK SNAKE - ANOTHER WILD FRIEND

The Ringneck Snake (Diadophis punctatus) AKA Ring-necked Snake is a smaller snake native to North America. It can be found in many areas in the United States down into Mexico, and also in Southeastern Canada. While it does have quite a home range and can be fairly common, it can be difficult to find.

The snakes are nocturnal, which leads to less interaction with humans than some other snakes. While it can be found in my native Wisconsin, I've never encountered any in that state even though I have spent some serious time looking. Here in the Ozarks, we frequently find them especially early in the year. In fact, three out of the seven snakes that we've found already this year have been Ringneck Snakes.

The Ringneck Snake can grow to lengths of just over a foot. They are brown or olive-colored on their backs, with a striking orange belly that eventually becomes more reddish towards the tail. While it is not present in every individual, the line of black spots running the length of the belly are common. These snakes can lay up to ten eggs, and feed mostly on slugs, earthworms, and salamanders.

The larger one featured in this video is somewhat grayish in coloration. This is because it is preparing to shed and the outer layer of skin will soon be removed. Another sign of this is a "glossy" appearance to the eyes. To hear more about these incredible creatures, check out the video!

The information is the video and post is original, but I did have a quick refresher from this source.

THE WILD-MAN'S WILD FRIENDS - EPISODE 60

RINGNECK SNAKE

If you enjoy these videos, please consider thanking @thelivingpoet for encouraging me to make them!


As always, I'm @papa-pepper and here's the proof:


proof-of-wild-friend-ringneck-snake

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  
Loading...

Cool little snake....:)...

We had a ring-necked snake as a pet when I was a kid. Hermy. He was a great little snake. We raised worms for him to eat. He liked wrapping himself around our fingers.

They are kind of cute snakes!

When i was about 16, my older brother called me. He was working for a local sign company at the time.
They had stumbled upon 2 ring neck snakes in the construction debris where they were working.
Both stuck in brown packing tape.

He called me to see where I was, dropped them off with me & said "here, see if you can save them".

I spent about 4 hours, very very slowly and carefully peeling the tape off of their tiny bodies!

I was successful! Luckily we were pretty experienced with reptiles as pets, so i had an aquarium, heat rock, etc.
I kept them for 24hrs to let them recover, then released them.

Wow! A terrible situation, but great job! Glad to hear that it worked out for them.

beautifull pictures of the details.

Wow, how long have you been in love with animals/reptiles and all other wild creatures?

It must have taken so much of your time to make so many videos.

I believe you have been handling wild creatures from the time you were young, that's why you are so confident around them.

It's been a life long adventure. My parents allowed me a lot of freedom in the wild when I was young.

Not everyone does that. Most people tell their children to be away from wild creature and places.

You are lucky to have such supportive parents.

A good set of videos to review!

this is very cool, you are very brave @papa-pepper.
this snake boy is a little big, how many snake kids you have there friends.

I do not dare if like papa hold snake, I apologize, papa is brave I admit it, I resteem papa yes.

@pappa-pepper The opossum looks the most dangerous! Looks like you might be the Steve Irwin of Steemit.

Looks like you might be the Steve Irwin of Steemit.

LOL! Thanks man!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71