You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Grading for Math teachers - What's hot and what's not?

in #education7 years ago

Interesting. I'm not a manic mom and don't get my knickers in a knot about the marks my children get. I know there is more to life than marks and trust my judgement regarding my children's abilities. Living in a small, conservative South African town, this attitude does not win me conventional friends, especially in the school community. I value independent thinking above all else. I feel my children are penalised for this, but the way I see it that is also probably part of their "life" learning experience. Good teachers are worth their weight in gold, but are about as rare as gold.

Sort:  

They are very rare! Some parents are very worried about marks, teachers too. Children get used to this and feel undervalued when the marks doesn't show what the parents want it to show. It's sad. I'm also not worried about it and I think it can be less of a big deal.

It's very strange teachers are not vetted better, and paid more for skills, especially when they have the responsibility of moulding the next generation. A couple of the most evil people I have met have been teachers, but I have also seen teachers loving my kids as their own.

I've also had horrible ones but I prefer to remember the good ones. They made life in school less horrible, lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67358.72
ETH 2619.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68