You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting People Make their Own "Mistakes," then Supporting them Afterwards // Experiential Education #4

in #education7 years ago

I love it Redwood! I wonder how much more challenging it will seem as we become parents.

None of us is perfect, and none of us doesn't make mistakes. If we are afraid to fail, or we are afraid to not do things "right," we are afraid to grow.

Such a beautiful, simple, and yet easily obscured thing! Here's to failing!!!!

Also, @everlove wrote a lovely piece about her son and video games I think there's some great parallels. Maybe you've already seen it? I don't remember.

Sort:  

I do remember you mentioning that post to me. Thanks for the link, I'll check it out :)

No idea how to anticipate what it'll be like to be a parent. I feel like it's one of those things you can't really imagine at all until you're there. Sure, I've cared for plants, and little humans that are not my progeny, but... my very own child!? Scary. Knowing what a little terror I was, double scary.

Despite whatever uncertainties, I'm confident you and I both will make excellent fathers one day, challenging as it may be. Mostly I know I don't want to go at it alone as a parent duo, so I'm subtly gathering teammates for a while now... ;). You're gonna have the cutest little blonde butterball(s). And when you do I'll be on your team, yknow, if you want that.

I do think you're getting at something really important, which is that because I am not K's parent, I have some distinct advantages in what I can and can't get away with as his educator. Like, I could say something, and his mom could say the exact same thing, but K would be 100x more likely to react negatively to his mom saying it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63410.49
ETH 3058.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99