You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #6: ADEPT VS. ADAPT VS. ADOPT

in #education8 years ago

One correction, with the first line, maybe a typo:

"Some people are just SO adept at adapting to English language that they have adopted it as their second language."

or

"Some people are just adept at adapting to English language SO they have adopted it as their second language."

Also, maybe this is just a regional thing (I'm in the US right now), but we'd probably say either "English" alone, or "the English language".

Anyway, if English is your second language, I'm very impressed. And very good of you to spread your talent by teaching :)

Sort:  

Nope, not a typo. I totally missed that. Thanks a lot for noticing and correcting. The word SO makes the word adept get more emphasis on its meaning. I also agree to using "the English" rather than "English" alone. I learn as I go and I honestly appreciate your comments. I actually need more people like you to qualify and verify what I am trying to say here.

I am not editing the sentence in question and let's see who else will share their ideas.

Learning never stops. Thanks for your kind words, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61536.69
ETH 3445.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50