ENGLISH LANGUAGE CONFUSING WORDS SERIES #6: ADEPT VS. ADAPT VS. ADOPT

in #education8 years ago

Some people are just adept at adapting to English language that they have adopted it as their second language.

One of the beauties of the English language is how you can change the meaning of a word by simply changing one of it letters. But this characteristic is also one of the many reasons why people tend to confuse the usages and meanings of the words.

DISCLAIMER: I am not an English Native Speaker nor an expert in English language. What I write here are all from experience and research. If you feel I am out of line or say the wrong things, please alert me in the comments. To this effect, I am not immuned to these confusing words myself and this series is as much as an education for me as to those who read these blog posts.

PHOTO SOURCE: LINKEDIN.COM


Adept VS. Adapt VS. Adopt


Aside from the vowels, these three words are entirely different from each other in meaning.


Adept means “good of doing something difficult” or “proficient or well trained”. It is and adjective and is often used with “at”.

Example #1: An adept blogger is what we need to add value to our Steemit community.

Example #2: A good blockchain programmer must be adept at blockchain technologies.


Adapt is a verb that means "to change for a new situation or purpose" or “to change your behavior so that it is easier to live in a particular place or situation”.

Example #1: Frogs can easily adapt to any temperature of its environment.

Example #2: Adapting to Steemit’s rules and regulations is not that difficult.


Adopt is also a verb, and it means “to legally take something as your own,” or "to begin to use something."

Example #1: Those who adopt Steemit early have advantages than those who just joined.

Example #2: The adoption of a child is not to be taken lightly.


Further Study:

I hope we learned something new today. I surely did! See you in the next confusing words! If you like this series, please follow@cjclaro and upvote and resteem ;-)

Sort:  

One correction, with the first line, maybe a typo:

"Some people are just SO adept at adapting to English language that they have adopted it as their second language."

or

"Some people are just adept at adapting to English language SO they have adopted it as their second language."

Also, maybe this is just a regional thing (I'm in the US right now), but we'd probably say either "English" alone, or "the English language".

Anyway, if English is your second language, I'm very impressed. And very good of you to spread your talent by teaching :)

Nope, not a typo. I totally missed that. Thanks a lot for noticing and correcting. The word SO makes the word adept get more emphasis on its meaning. I also agree to using "the English" rather than "English" alone. I learn as I go and I honestly appreciate your comments. I actually need more people like you to qualify and verify what I am trying to say here.

I am not editing the sentence in question and let's see who else will share their ideas.

Learning never stops. Thanks for your kind words, too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64310.07
ETH 3504.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49